Skip Navigation
COVID-19: Information, Resources, and Cancellations
Page Background


There are three Critical Area classifications: IDA-Intensely Developed Area, LDA-Limited Development Area and RCA-Resource Conservation Area.

How to Apply

A pre-filing meeting with the Zoning Division is required prior to submittal.  Appointment required.  An application for a Critical Area Reclassification must be hand delivered to the Zoning Division of the Office of Planning and Zoning for processing.

See related information for details about the Critical Area Reclassification and Declassification Process.


Filing and Sign Fees Fees
Filing fee $1,200.00
Sign fee $35.00 for each

Sign fee $35 for each sign that is required to be posted on the property. For sites with frontage on more than one road or on the water, additional signs are required for each road and water frontage.

Filing fee and sign fee may be combined in one check made payable to Anne Arundel County.


2664 Riva Road
Annapolis, MD 21401