Skip Navigation
Page Background

Special Operations Division

The Anne Arundel County Police Special Operations Division provides a specialized police response for the department.


About the Division

The Special Operations Division provides a specialized police response for unique emergency situations and technical traffic investigations. The following full time units are assigned to the Division:

Command Staff

Title Name
Commanding Officer Captain Daniel Rodriguez
Special Operations Section Commander Lieutenant Brent Weaver
Traffic Safety Section Commander Lieutenant Mike Haviland


Special Operation Section

Lieutenant Brent Weaver
(410) 222-8520
  • Quick Response Team (SWAT)

    QRT provides operational and tactical support to the Patrol Division. Major responsibilities include handling hostage/barricade situations, high risk felony arrests, entering and stabilizing raid locations, woodland suspect searches, tactical responses to WMD/Hazmat and maritime incidents.

  • Aviation Unit

    The Aviation Unit provides air support for operational activities, including surveillance, traffic enforcement, and pursuit of fleeing offenders. The unit also provides aerial support for various other County, State and Federal agencies.

  • K-9 Unit

    The responsibility of the K-9 Unit is to provide line support to components within the department with highly mobile, specially trained police dogs. The unit provides canine support for high risk building/area searches, narcotic and explosives searches, and searches for missing persons.


Traffic Safety Section

Lieutenant Mike Haviland
(410) 222-4773
The Traffic Safety Section coordinates or oversees traffic-related services including the department’s radar enforcement programs, chemical test for alcohol program, and traffic control during parades, and other major events. The Traffic Safety Section also investigates all fatal motor vehicle traffic accidents.


Decentralized Units

The following decentralized units also fall under the operational command of the Special Operations Division:

  • Conflict Negotiations Team (Hostage Negotiators)
  • Civil Disturbance Unit (Public Order Unit)
  • Decentralized Quick Response Team (DSWAT)


Follow AACOPD on Facebook
Follow AACOPD on Twitter