About the Human Relations Commission

The Commission is made up of 13 voting commissioners: 11 commissioners are Anne Arundel County residents, who serve staggered three-year terms; one commissioner is a high school age student member; and one commissioner is the Executive Director of Arundel Community Development Services, Inc., or their designee. The Human Relations Officer, who is a County employee, serves as a non-voting ex officio member of the Commission.

All voting members of the Commission are nominated by the County Executive and approved by resolution of the County Council. Seven of the Commissioners are recommended by each Council Member from their councilmanic district, and the County Executive recommends four Commissioners to ensure the composition of the Commission reflects the diversity of County residents.


The Human Relations Commission works to promote the fair and equal treatment of all Anne Arundel County residents and to counteract racism, discrimination, intolerance and hate/bias incidents in the County.