County Executive Pittman, Caucus of African American Leaders To Honor 14 Remarkable Female Advocates

Prince George’s County Executive Angela Alsobrooks will deliver the keynote address at this year’s ceremony

Annapolis, MD (March 19, 2024) Anne Arundel County Executive Steuart Pittman and Carl Snowden, Convener of the Caucus of African American Leaders (CAAL) will honor 14 remarkable female advocates during the 6th Annual Michelle Obama Awards. This year’s ceremony will take place at Maryland Hall on March 25, 2024, from 6:00 pm to 8:00 pm. 

“This year's theme reminds us of the pivotal role women play in advancing social justice, breaking barriers, and fostering a more inclusive society,” said County Executive Pittman. “I am thrilled to recognize the work that these fourteen extraordinary women do to help make Anne Arundel County The Best Place - For All.”

The theme of this year’s program is “Women Who Advocate for Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion.” Honorees will include local leaders who work to advance equity and justice within our communities. The event will feature a musical selection from Ron-Shaye Clark, a ballet performance by Zorin Perry, award presentations by Office of Equity and Human Rights’ Director Asha Smith, and a keynote address by Prince George’s County Executive Angela Alsobrooks. 

Honorees include: 

  1. Faye Allen Belt 

  2. Karen Theimer Brown

  3. Dr. Maisha Gillins

  4. Mikel Hicks

  5. Ginina A. Jackson-Stevenson

  6. Tatiana J Klein

  7. Enid Collinson Lee

  8. Kellie Michele McCants-Price

  9. Ellen O. Moyer

  10. Janet Owens

  11. Leah Aiello Paley

  12. Lisa Shore

  13. Toni Strong Pratt

  14. Juanita Banks-Whittington

“We named this award after Michelle Obama because she personified the progress that women have made in our nation, " noted Carl Snowden.

The Michelle Obama Awards program occurs annually during Women’s History Month to celebrate remarkable women across the county who recognize the need to eradicate bias and discrimination from our lives and institutions. It is named after former First Lady Michelle Obama, who serves as a role model for women and advocates for poverty awareness, education, nutrition, health, and wellness.

Members of the media are welcome to attend. To read the short bios of the honorees, and register for the event, visit