County Executive Pittman, Caucus of African American Leaders Host Annual ‘Few of the Many’ Awards Ceremony

Honorees include community leaders who exemplify the theme of “Black Resilience”

Annapolis, MD (February 17, 2023) Anne Arundel County Executive Steuart Pittman and Carl Snowden, Convener of the Caucus of African American Leaders (CAAL) last night hosted the annual ‘Few of the Many’ Awards. This year’s honorees included 14 Anne Arundel County community leaders who exemplify the theme of “Black Resilience.”

“We recognize that we can do more to empower and promote diversity in leadership in both the public and private sectors,” said County Executive Pittman. “We host this event every year to shine a light on leaders and emerging leaders to encourage them to continue their good work.”

During last night’s ceremony, emceed by Carl Snowden, awardees receive two honors—The Sojourner Truth Award and The Elijah Cummings Award— created posthumously to recognize two towering landmark figures whose lives left indelible marks on the struggle for equal justice and humanity. This year's theme called on residents to reflect on how the African American community continues to find ways to build communities and thrive against insurmountable odds.

“These are trailblazers, pathfinders, and icebreakers,” said Carl Snowden. “They represent the few of the many.”

Among the list of honorees were Anne Arundel County’s first African American Sheriff and Register of Wills - Sheriff Everett Sesker, who received the Congressman Elijah Cummings Awards, and the Honorable Erica Griswold who received the Sojourner Truth Award. Other awardees included: 

Sojourner Truth Awardees

  • Nelson Brown 

  • Sheylia Brown 

  • Phyllis Currie Spencer

  • Arlene Jackson 

  • Roslyn D. Johnson-Jones

  • Priscilla Monroe

Congressman Elijah Cummings Awardees

  • Reverend Rickey Nelson Jones

  • C. Pierre Parker 

  • Eugene Peterson 

  • Keanuú Smith-Brown

  • Demontae L. Reid

  • Judge Shaem C. P Spencer

The Few of the Many, and Michelle Obama Awards held during Women’s History Month are hosted by County Executive’s Pittman’s office in partnership with CAAL in an effort to recognize residents in Anne Arundel County who have made lasting contributions to their communities. Each year, the event is attended by dozens of local, state, and community leaders representing numerous organizations and jurisdictions. 

To learn more about the Few of the Many Awards and read the short bios of the honorees, visit