Skip Navigation
All County Offices will be closed on Monday, January 20, 2020 in observance of Martin Luther King, Jr. Day.
Page Background

Gun Violence Prevention Task Force

The task force is charged with researching and compiling data on crimes and suicide involving guns and recommending actions to help reduce gun violence in the county.


In the Spotlight

About the Task Force

The task force consists of twenty appointed citizen members representing a broad spectrum of experience and expertise in public safety, emergency operations, behavioral health and community outreach. The task force also includes sixteen local government officials acting as ex-officio members. Addressing gun violence has been a priority for Pittman, and he committed to creating a task force during his campaign for office. Jennifer Purcell, Pittman’s Chief of Staff, will represent the County Executive on the task force.

The executive order requests a preliminary report from the task force by December 15 summarizing its progress and any initial findings and recommendations.

Task Force Members

  • Citizen Members
    Bishop Charles Carroll, Chair
    Andrea Chamblee, Vice Chair
    Maria Hiaasen, Vice Chair
    Jamie Benoit, former County Councilmember, District 4 (2006 - 2014)
    Dawn Stoltzfus, communications professional and member of Moms Demand Action
    Sue Ward, Vice President for Operations, Baltimore Washington Medical Center
    Mackenzie BougheyAnne Arundel County student; March for Our Lives organizer 
    Bob Bates, former member, Brady Campaign to End Gun Violence
    Jennifer Sowers, Director of the Anne Arundel County Parent Coalition
    Elizabeth Ruddy, Anne Arundel County Public Schools teacher
    Iris Krasnow, author and columnist at The Capital
    Sergeant James Spearman, retired Annapolis Police officer, member of the Caucus of African-American Leaders
    Jackie Allsup, Anne Arundel County NAACP
    Alba Reyes, Hispanic community leader
    Elizabeth Banach, Marylanders to Prevent Gun Violence
    Stacy Korbelak, Professor
    Chris Moore, Citizen
    Dr. David Moller, Medical Ethicist, Anne Arundel Medical Center
    Lt. Steven Thomas, Crisis Intervention Team Officer
  • Ex-Officio Members
    Jennifer Purcell, Chief of Staff, County Executive Steuart Pittman
    Anne Leitess, Anne Arundel County States Attorney
    Billie Penley, Health Officer (acting)
    Adrienne Mickler, Executive Director of the Anne Arundel County Mental Health Agency, Inc.
    Tim Altomare, Chief of Police
    Peter Smith, Military and Veterans Affairs Liaison
    Kevin Simmons, Director of the Office of Emergency Management for the City of Annapolis
    Greg Swain, County Attorney
    Trisha Wolford, Fire Chief
    Sandra Bartlett, Delegate, District 32
    Pamela Beidle, Senator Senator, District 32
    Allison Pickard, County Councilmember, District 2
    Nathan Volke, County Councilmember, District 3
    Melissa Ellis, Member, Board of Education, District 4
    Lt. Brian Andre, Anne Arundel County Sheriff's Office
    Rhonda Pindell Charles, Alderwoman, Ward 3

Gun Violence Task Force

No Meetings Scheduled
Accommodation Requests