

# ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY GOVERNMENT RELATIONS OFFICE

# Legislative and Fiscal Summary of Administration Legislation

To: Members, Anne Arundel County Council

From: Ethan Hunt, Director of Government Affairs /s/

**Date:** July 7, 2025

Subject: Resolution No. 19 -25 – RESOLUTION confirming appointments to the Board of Trustees for the Anne Arundel County Retiree Health Benefits Trust

This summary was prepared by the Anne Arundel County Government Relations Office for use by members of the Anne Arundel County Council during consideration of Resolution No. 19-25.

### **Summary**

This resolution appoints four members to the Board of Trustees for the Anne Arundel County Retiree Health Benefits Trust. Anne Arundel County Charter Sec. 718(i) requires that the County budget include a continuing, nonlapsing fund known as the Reserve Fund for Retiree Health Benefits. The sole purpose of the fund is to pay the health care benefits of retired County employees and their spouses, dependents, and survivors, with the interest earnings of the Fund retained to the credit of the Fund. Section 815 of the Charter authorized the County to establish the Reserve Fund for retiree health benefits described in Section 718(i) as an "other post-employment benefits" ("OPEB") trust known as the Retiree Health Benefits Trust, and provide for the number and manner of appointment of the trustees and the exercise of the powers and duties of the trustees as an independent agency of the County. Anne Arundel County Code § 6-5-104 provides that there is a Board of Trustees for the Anne Arundel County Retiree Health Benefits Trust that shall consist of at least eight Trustees. Section 6-5-104(b) provides that four Trustees shall be appointed by the County Executive and confirmed by resolution of the County Council, and further provides that, of the four Trustees appointed by the County Executive:

- 1. One Trustee shall be an active non-represented employee in the classified service or a retiree who retired as a non- represented employee in the classified service;
- 2. One Trustee shall be an active employee who is a member of one of the uniformed public

# Note: This Legislative and Fiscal Summary provides a synopsis of the legislation as introduced. It does not address subsequent amendments to the legislation.

Legislative and Fiscal Summary of Administration Legislation - Resolution No. 19-25 Page No. 2

safety unions or a retiree who retired as a member of one of the uniformed public safety unions, and who is nominated by a majority of the presidents of the county uniformed public safety unions;

- 3. One Trustee shall be an active employee who is in the classified service represented by an exclusive representative other than one of the county uniformed public safety unions or a retiree who retired as a classified employee represented by an exclusive representative other than one of the county uniformed public safety unions, and who is nominated by a majority of the presidents of the non-uniformed public safety unions; and
- 4. One Trustee shall be a County resident with knowledge of finances and investing who is not an employee or retiree of the County.

Section 6-5-104(c)(1) of the County Code provides that after the expiration of the initial terms, all terms shall be for three years and a Trustee whose term has expired holds over until a successor is appointed. The term of Drew Martin (an active non-represented employee in the classified service) expired on June 30, 2021, the term of O'Brien Atkinson (an active employee who is a member of one of the uniformed public safety unions) expired on June 30, 2023, and the term of Kevin Nethers (an active employee who is in the classified service represented by an exclusive representative other than one of the county uniformed public safety unions) expired on June 30, 2022. They have all continued to serve pending appointments of their successors.

The County Executive, consistent with Anne Arundel County Code §6-5-104(b) and subject to confirmation by the County Council, has appointed Doug Hart (a retiree who retired as a non-represented employee in the classified service) and has reappointed O'Brien Atkinson (nominated by a majority of the presidents of the county uniformed public safety unions) and Kevin Nethers (nominated by a majority of the presidents of the non-uniformed public safety unions) to serve terms beginning July 1, 2025, and expiring on June 30, 2028.

### **Purpose**

This resolution appoints Doug Hart and reappoints O'Brien Atkinson and Kevin Nethers as members to the Board of Trustees for the Anne Arundel County Retiree Health Benefits Trust.

## <u>Fiscal Impact</u>

Please see the Fiscal Note the Budget Office has prepared for an explanation of the fiscal impact of this Bill.

## **Additional Information**

The Government Relations Office is available to answer any additional questions regarding this Bill. Specific questions should be directed to Lori Blair Klasmeier, Office of Law, or Kelly Lovett, Office of Personnel. Thank you.

cc: Honorable Steuart Pittman, County Executive Christine Anderson, Chief Administrative Officer Jenny Proebstle, Chief of Staff Gregory Swain, County Attorney Chris Trumbauer, Budget Officer Anne Budowski, Personnel Officer