COUNTY COUNCIL OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY, MARYLAND

Legislative Session 2025, Legislative Day No. 11

Resolution No. 14-25

Introduced by Ms. Hummer, Chair (by request of the County Executive)

By the County Council, May 19, 2025

1	RESOLUTION approving appointment of members to the Police Accountability Board
2 3	WHEREAS, § 3-16-103 of the County Code establishes the membership of the
4	County's Police Accountability Board;
5	
6	WHEREAS, that membership includes eight voting members who have resided in
7 8	the County for at least three years prior to appointment, who are appointed by the County Executive, and whose appointment is approved by the County Council; and
9	yyyyyy
10	WHEREAS, each councilmember is given a reasonable opportunity to recommend
11	a resident of their district to be appointed to the Board; and
12	
13	WHEREAS, § 3-16-103(a) describes criteria for membership on the Police
14	Accountability Board, including that, to the extent practicable, membership shall:
15	reflect the racial, gender, gender-identity, sexual orientation, and cultural diversity
16	of the County; include representation from the populations, identities, geographic
17	areas, and communities that historically experienced or currently experience a
18	higher frequency of interactions with law enforcement; and include a diversity of
19	experience and expertise, including certain specified relevant areas; and
20	
21	WHEREAS, § 3-16-103(b) sets forth an appointment process that includes
22	publication of an advertisement for the opportunity to apply for membership for at
23	least 30 days prior to an appointment by the County Executive; and
24	
25	WHEREAS, the terms of three members (Jeanette Ortiz, District 5; Daniel Watkins,
26	District 6; and Shawn Ashworth, District 3) expire on June 30, 2025; and
27	
28	WHEREAS, there is a vacancy on the Board that has remained unfilled; and
29	
30	WHEREAS, the advertisement for the opportunity to fill the vacant position was
31	published for at least 30 days prior to appointment by the County Executive, and
32	the Councilmembers have been given an opportunity to recommend members for
33	appointment; and
34	
35	WHEREAS, the County Executive has reappointed Jeanette Ortiz (a County
36	resident of District 5), Daniel Watkins (a County resident of District 6), and Shawn
37	Ashworth (a County resident of District 3), who meet the eligibility requirements

26

set forth in § 3-16-103(a), as voting members of the Police Accountability Board 1 2 for the three-year terms beginning on July 1, 2025, expiring on June 30, 2028; and 3 WHEREAS, the County Executive has appointed Brian Conrad (a County resident 4 of District 3), who meets the eligibility requirements set forth in § 3-16-103(a), to 5 6 fill the vacant position as a voting member of the Police Accountability Board for a three-year term beginning on July 1, 2025, expiring on June 30, 2028; and 7 8 9 WHEREAS, pursuant to § 3-16-104, the County Executive has designated Jeanette Ortiz as Chair of the Police Accountability Board subject to the approval of the 10 County Council; and 11 12 WHEREAS, the County Council, after a public hearing, finds that Jeanette Ortiz, 13 Daniel Watkins, Shawn Ashworth, and Brian Conrad meet the eligibility 14 requirements of § 3-16-103, and are qualified to serve on the Police Accountability 15 Board; now, therefore, be it 16 17 18 Resolved by the County Council of Anne Arundel County, Maryland, That it approves the reappointment of Jeanette Ortiz, Daniel Watkins, and Shawn Ashworth, and the 19 appointment of Brian Conrad to terms beginning on July 1, 2025, and expiring on 20 June 30, 2028; and be it further 21 22 Resolved, That it approves the designation of Jeanette Ortiz as Chair of the Police 23 24 Accountability Board; and be it further 25

Resolved, That copies of this Resolution be sent to County Executive Steuart Pittman.