

Office of the County Executive STEUART PITTMAN

ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY GOVERNMENT RELATIONS OFFICE

Legislative and Fiscal Summary of Administration Legislation

To: Members, Anne Arundel County Council

From: Ethan Hunt, Director of Government Affairs /s/

Date: May 19, 2025

Subject: Resolution No. 14-25 – RESOLUTION approving appointment of

members to the Police Accountability Board

This summary was prepared by the Anne Arundel County Government Relations Office for use by members of the Anne Arundel County Council during consideration of Resolution No. 14-25.

Summary

This Resolution, submitted at the request of the Administration, appoints a new member to Anne Arundel County's Police Accountability Board ("PAB"), reappoints three members, and designates the Chair, for terms of three years.

The Maryland Police Accountability Act ("MPAA"), Ch. 59 Acts of the Maryland General Assembly 2021, requires each county in Maryland to have a PAB to work with law enforcement agencies and county government to improve matters of policing,appoint civilian members to charging committees and trial boards, receive complaints of police misconduct filed by members of the public, review outcomes of disciplinary matters considered by charging committees; and annually report any trends in the disciplinary process of police officers in the county and make recommendations on changes to policy that would improve police accountability in the county. Md. Code Ann. Pub. Safety Art. §3–102.

Anne Arundel County Code §3-16-103 establishes the membership qualifications for members of the PAB, and requires that they shall have resided in the County for at least three years prior to appointment and shall be appointed by the County Executive and approved by resolution of the County Council. Pursuant to Md. Code Ann. Pub. Safety Art. §3–102(b)(1)(ii), an active police officer may not be a voting member of the PAB. To the extent practicable, the voting membership of the PAB shall reflect the racial, gender, gender-identity, sexual orientation, and cultural diversity of the County, and include representation from the populations, identities, geographic areas, and communities that historically experienced or currently experience a higher

Note: This Legislative and Fiscal Summary provides a synopsis of the legislation as introduced. It does not address subsequent amendments to the legislation.

Legislative and Fiscal Summary of Administration Legislation - Resolution No. 14-25 Page No. 2

frequency of interactions with law enforcement. To the extent practicable, the voting membership of the PAB shall include a diversity of experience and expertise, including in such areas as community organization, civil rights, law enforcement, criminal law, behavioral health, faith-based leadership, community policing, policing standards, sociology, education, social work, criminology, personnel management and discipline, juvenile services, or other life experience that may be valuable to the Board. The same code provision also requires that each member of the County Council shall have a reasonable opportunity to recommend to the County Executive a resident of that Council member's district for potential appointment to the Board. Additionally, applications have been solicited on the County's website for the past 12 months. Moyah Panda (Executive Director) also extended the opportunity to apply to various community groups to include CAAL, NAACP, and others.

This Resolution reappoints Jeanette Ortiz, a resident of Councilmanic District 5; Daniel Watkins, a resident of Councilmanic District 6; and Shawn Ashworth, a resident of Councilmanic District 3, whose current terms expire on June 30, 2025, to three-year terms on the PAB beginning on July 1, 2025, and expiring on June 30, 2028. It also appoints Brian Conrad, a county resident of Councilmanic District 3, who meets the eligibility requirements set forth in § 3-16-103(a) and was recommended by his councilmember, to fill the currently vacant position as a voting member of the PAB for a three-year term beginning on July 1, 2025, expiring on June 30, 2028. It further designates the current Chair, Jeanette Ortiz, as Chair of the Police Accountability Board subject to the approval of the County Council, pursuant to Anne Arundel County Code § 3-16-104.

The PAB's most recent annual report is available on its webpage at: https://www.aacounty.org/sites/default/files/2025-01/police-accountability-board-annual-report-2 https://www.aacounty.org/sites/default/files/2025-01/police-accountability-board-annual-report-2

Purpose

The purpose of this Resolution is to reappoint Jeanette Ortiz, Daniel Watkins, and Shawn Ashworth to three-year terms on the Police Accountability Board, appoint Brian Conrad to a three-year term on the Police Accountability Board, and designate Jeanette Ortiz as the Chair of the Police Accountability Board.

Fiscal Impact

Please see the Fiscal Note the Budget Office has prepared for an explanation of the fiscal impact of this Resolution.

Additional Information

The Government Relations Office is available to answer any additional questions regarding this Bill. Specific questions should be directed to Lori Blair Klasmeier, Deputy County Attorney, or Moyah Panda, Executive Director, Police Accountability Board. Thank you.

cc: Honorable Steuart Pittman, County Executive
Christine Anderson, Chief Administrative Officer
Jenny Proebstle, Chief of Staff
Chris Trumbauer, Budget Officer
Gregory Swain, County Attorney
Moyah Panda, Executive Director, Police Accountability Board Board