COUNTY COUNCIL OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY, MARYLAND

Legislative Session 2023, Legislative Day No. 20

Resolution No. 52-23

Introduced by Mr. Smith, Chair (by request of the County Executive)

By the County Council, November 20, 2023

1	RESOLUTION confirming a nomination to the Board of Trustees of The Public
2	Library Association of Annapolis and Anne Arundel County, Incorporated
3	WHEDEAS assessed to its Eighteenth Amendment and Complete Restatement of
4 5	WHEREAS, pursuant to its Eighteenth Amendment and Complete Restatement of the Bylaws dated February 17, 2022 (the "Bylaws"), the Board of Trustees of The
5 6	Public Library Association of Annapolis and Anne Arundel County, Incorporated
7	("AACPL") includes up to eight members who are nominated by the County
8	Executive and confirmed by resolution of the County Council for presentation to
9	and appointment by the Board of Trustees; and
10	and appointment by the Board of Trastees, and
11	WHEREAS, the Bylaws further provide that seven of the eight members nominated
12	by the County Executive and confirmed by resolution of the County Council shall
13	represent each of the County's councilmanic districts, and the eighth member shall
14	be at large; and
15	
16	WHEREAS, as stated in the Bylaws, the term of a member of the AACPL Board
17	of Trustees is 3 years; and
18	
19	WHEREAS, as stated in the Bylaws, any new trustee filling the seat of a trustee
20	who resigns shall serve out the term of the resigning trustee and thereafter may
21	serve no more than three consecutive 3-year terms; and
22	
23	WHEREAS, the term of Dalix Cruz, appointed to serve as the member of the
24	AACPL Board of Trustees from Councilmanic District 6, ended on August 25,
25	2023; and
26	WHEREAC As Court Francisco la consideral Delan Dellan accident of
27	WHEREAS, the County Executive has nominated Dylan Behler, a resident of Councilmanic District 6, to serve as the member of the AACPL Board of Trustees
28	from Councilmanic District 6 for a 3-year the term beginning upon final
29 30	appointment by the AACPL Board of Trustees; and
31	appointment by the AACI E Board of Trustees, and
32	WHEREAS, the County Council finds that Dylan Behler meets the eligibility
33	requirements and is qualified to serve on the AACPL Board of Trustees; now,
34	therefore, be it
35	,
36	Resolved by the County Council of Anne Arundel County, Maryland, That it confirms

the nomination of Dylan Behler, a resident of Councilmanic District 6, to serve as the

37

Resolution No. 52-23 Page No. 2

member of the AACPL Board of Trustees from Councilmanic District 6 for a 3-year term beginning upon final appointment by the AACPL Board of Trustees; and be it further

2

1

Resolved, That copies of this Resolution be sent to Steuart Pittman, County Executive;
Christopher B. Nelson, Chair, AACPL Board of Trustees; Christine Anderson, Chief
Administrative Officer; and Kaley Schultze, Boards and Commissions Coordinator.

READ AND PASSED this 4th day of December, 2023.

By Order:

Laura Corby ()

I HEREBY CERTIFY THAT RESOLUTION NO. 52-23 IS TRUE AND CORRECT AND DULY ADOPTED BY THE COUNTY COUNCIL OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY.

Allison M. Pickard Chair