## COUNTY COUNCIL OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY, MARYLAND

Legislative Session 2023, Legislative Day No. 15

Resolution No. 36-23

## Introduced by Mr. Smith, Chair (by request of the County Executive)

## By the County Council, September 5, 2023

1 2	RESOLUTION confirming the appointments of Anne Arundel County residents to serve on the Spending Affordability Committee
3	serve on the spending Attoreasinty committee
4	WHEREAS, Section 610(a) of the Charter of Anne Arundel County, Maryland,
5	provides that there is a Spending Affordability Committee that is appointed by the
6	County Executive and confirmed by resolution of the County Council; and
7	
8	WHEREAS, Section 610(c) of the Charter provides that the Spending Affordability
9	Committee shall consist of one resident from each councilmanic district who is
10	knowledgeable in the field of economics, finance, fiscal planning, or a related field;
11	and
12	
13	WHEREAS, Section 610(d) of the Charter provides that each member of the
14	Spending Affordability Committee shall be appointed for a term of four years not
15	to exceed two successive terms; and
16	
17	WHEREAS, Section 610(d) of the Charter further provides that, at the end of a
18	term, a member shall continue to serve until a successor has been appointed and
19	qualified; and
20	
21	WHEREAS, the terms of the members for District 5 and District 6 expired on
22	December 1, 2022; and
23	WHEREAS the County Executive subject to confirmation by the County Council
24	WHEREAS, the County Executive, subject to confirmation by the County Council,
25 26	has appointed Robert Fetter, a resident of District 5, to serve on the Spending Affordability Committee for a term beginning on September 5, 2023, and ending
26 27	on September 4, 2027; and has reappointed David Juppe, a resident of District 6, to
28	serve on the Spending Affordability Committee for a term beginning on December
29	2, 2022, and ending on December 1, 2026; and
30	2, 2022, and ording on December 1, 2020, and
31	WHEREAS, the County Council, finds that Robert Fetter and David Juppe meet
32	the eligibility requirements under Section 610 of the Charter to serve on the
33	Spending Affordability Committee; now, therefore, be it
34	
35	Resolved by the County Council of Anne Arundel County, Maryland, That it hereby
36	approves the appointment of Robert Fetter, a resident of District 5, to serve on the Spending
37	Affordability Committee for a term beginning on September 5, 2023, and ending on
38	September 4, 2027; and the appointment of David Juppe, a resident of District 6, to serve

Resolution No. 36-23 Page No. 2

- 1 on the Spending Affordability Committee for a term beginning on December 2, 2022, and
- 2 ending on December 1, 2026; and be it further
- 3
- 4 *Resolved*, That copies of this Resolution be sent to Steuart Pittman, County Executive;
- 5 Christine Anderson, Chief Administrative Officer; and Kaley Schultze, Boards and
- 6 Commissions Coordinator.

READ AND PASSED this 18th day of September, 2023.

By Order:

Loch Laura Corby

Administrative Officer

I HEREBY CERTIFY THAT RESOLUTION NO. 36-23 IS TRUE AND CORRECT AND DULY ADOPTED BY THE COUNTY COUNCIL OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY.

Peter I. Smith Chair