COUNTY COUNCIL OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY, MARYLAND

Legislative Session 2023, Legislative Day No. 15

Resolution No. 35-23

Introduced by Mr. Smith, Chair (by request of the County Executive)

By the County Council, September 5, 2023

	By the County Council, September 3, 2023
1 2	RESOLUTION approving the nominations for appointment to the Stakeholder Advisory Committee for Region Planning Area No. 9
3	
4	WHEREAS, § 18-2-103(e) of the County Code provides that each General
5	Development Plan adopted by the County Council shall designate at least seven
6	region planning areas encompassing all of the unincorporated areas of the County
7	and shall provide for the creation of region plans for each region planning area; and
8	
9	WHEREAS, § 18-2-103(e) further provides that the General Development Plan
10	shall specify the composition of Stakeholder Advisory Committees, which shall
11	include between 9 and 15 citizens who are residents or, own property in, or have an interest in land use planning in the region planning area, and who are nominated by
12 13	the County Executive and approved by Resolution of the County Council; and
14	the County Executive and approved by Resolution of the County Council, and
15	WHEREAS, § 18-2-103(e) also provides that two-thirds of the members of each
16	Stakeholder Advisory Committee shall be residents of the region, and that the
17	committees shall include at least one resident of each councilmanic district included
18	in the region planning area, who shall be recommended to the County Executive by
19	the Councilmember from the district; and
20	
21	WHEREAS, § 18-2-103(e) states that the Stakeholder Advisory Committees will
22	work with the Office of Planning and Zoning to develop the region plans and to
23	ensure that the region plans are consistent with the goals and policies contained in
24	the General Development Plan; and
25	
26	WHEREAS, by Bill No. 11-21, the County Council adopted "Plan2040", the
27	General Development Plan for the County; and
28	WITEDEAC D1-2040 : 1-4:6
29	WHEREAS, Plan2040 identifies and designates 9 region planning areas in the
30 31	County; and
32	WHEREAS, Plan2040 specifies that the membership of the Stakeholder Advisory
33	Committees shall reflect the ethnic and minority diversity of the regions and will

include a broad cross-section of a region's civic, business, environmental, and other

stakeholders who reside in or own or manage a business in the region planning area,

such as long-time resident property owners or renters, recent resident property

owners or renters, homeowners' association or civic association board members,

local business representatives, home builders, real estate developers or brokers,

34

35

36

37

38

military members or other relevant government agency employees or contractors, affordable housing advocates, community or social organization members, environmental organization members, commercial or maritime association members, school organization members, youth adult representatives, local recreation council or group members, and farming and agriculture representatives; and

1 2

WHEREAS, the County Executive has nominated members of the Stakeholder Advisory Committee for Region Planning Area No. 9, as identified in Plan2040 who meet the eligibility requirements of § 18-2-103(e) and Plan2040; and

WHEREAS, the County Council, after a public hearing, finds that the County Executive's nominees meet the eligibility requirements of § 18-2-103(e) and Plan2040, and are qualified to serve on the Stakeholder Advisory Committee for Region Planning Area No. 9, as the region is identified in Plan2040; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the County Council of Anne Arundel County, Maryland, That it approves the following appointments to serve on the Stakeholder Advisory Committee for Region Planning Area No. 9, as the region is identified in Plan2040:

1. Anthony R. Brent (Recent Resident, Military, Department of Defense, or Other Relevant Government Agency, or Contractor, and Member of HOA or Civic Association Board, and Community/Social Organization);

2. Audrey Broomfield (Recent Resident, Farming and Agriculture Representative, and Member of Community/Social Organization, and Commercial or Maritime Association);

3. Caitlin Saavedra (Recent Resident, and Member of HOA or Civic Association Board, Environmental Organization, Community/Social Organization, and School Organization);

4. Carla DeWitt (Resident, and Member of HOA or Civic Association Board, Community/Social Organization, School Organization, and Local Recreation Council or Group);

5. Cate Bower (Long-Time Resident, and Member of Environmental Organization, and Community/Social Organization);

6. Cathy Oliver (Long-Time Resident, Affordable Housing Advocate, and Member of HOA or Civic Association Board, Environmental Organization, and Community/Social Organization);

7. Gerardo Martinez (Recent Resident, Local Business Representative, Farming and Agriculture Representative, and Member of Environmental Organization);

8. Hamilton Chaney (Long-Time Resident, Local Business Representative, and Member of Community/Social Organization, and Commercial or Maritime Association);

HOA or Civic Association Board, and Environmental Organization); 2 3 10. Nicola Smith-Kea (Resident, and Member of Community/Social Organization, and 4 School Organization); 5 6 11. Richard Erickson (Resident, and Member of HOA or Civic Association Board, and 7 Community/Social Organization); 8 9 12. Roger Massey (Long-Time Resident, Military, Department of Defense, or Other 10 Relevant Government Agency, or Contractor, Farming and Agriculture Representative, 11 and Member of Community/Social Organization); 12 13 13. V.K. Holtzendorf (Long-Time Resident, Farming and Agriculture Representative, 14 and Member of Environmental Organization, and Community/Social Organization); 15 16 17 14. William J. Scerbo (Long-Time Resident, Local Business Representative, Farming and Agriculture Representative, and Member of Commercial or Maritime Association); 18 19 20 15. Amelia Whitman, as recommended by the Councilmember from Councilmanic 21 District 7 (Long-Time Resident, Local Business Representative, Home Builder/Real Estate 22 Developer, Affordable Housing Advocate, and Member of HOA or Civic Association 23 Board, and Commercial or Maritime Association); and be it further 24 25 26 Resolved, That copies of this Resolution be sent to County Executive Steuart Pittman; Janssen Evelyn, Deputy Chief Administrative Officer for Land Use; Jenny Jarkowski, 27 Planning and Zoning Officer; and Kaley Schultze, Boards and Commissions Coordinator. 28 READ AND PASSED this 18th day of September, 2023. By Order: Administrative Officer

9. Matt Minahan (Recent Resident, Local Business Representative, and Member of

1

I HEREBY CERTIFY THAT RESOLUTION NO. 35-23 IS TRUE AND CORRECT AND DULY ADOPTED BY THE COUNTY COUNCIL OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY.

Peter I. Smith Chair