## COUNTY COUNCIL OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY, MARYLAND

Legislative Session 2023, Legislative Day No. 15

## Resolution No. 34-23

Introduced by Mr. Smith, Chair (by request of the County Executive)

By the County Council, September 5, 2023

1 2	RESOLUTION approving the nominations for appointment to the Stakeholder Advisory Committee for Region Planning Area No. 3
3	
4	WHEREAS, § 18-2-103(e) of the County Code provides that each General
5	Development Plan adopted by the County Council shall designate at least seven
6	region planning areas encompassing all of the unincorporated areas of the County
7	and shall provide for the creation of region plans for each region planning area; and
8	
9	WHEREAS, § 18-2-103(e) further provides that the General Development Plan
10	shall specify the composition of Stakeholder Advisory Committees, which shall
11	include between 9 and 15 citizens who are residents or, own property in, or have an
12	interest in land use planning in the region planning area, and who are nominated by
13	the County Executive and approved by Resolution of the County Council; and
14	
15	WHEREAS, § 18-2-103(e) also provides that two-thirds of the members of each
16	Stakeholder Advisory Committee shall be residents of the region, and that the
17	committees shall include at least one resident of each councilmanic district included
18	in the region planning area, who shall be recommended to the County Executive by
19	the Councilmember from the district; and
20	WHITE EAG () 10 2 102()
21	WHEREAS, § 18-2-103(e) states that the Stakeholder Advisory Committees will
22	work with the Office of Planning and Zoning to develop the region plans and to
23	ensure that the region plans are consistent with the goals and policies contained in
24	the General Development Plan; and
<ul><li>25</li><li>26</li></ul>	WHEREAS, by Bill No. 11-21, the County Council adopted "Plan2040", the
27	General Development Plan for the County; and
28	General Development I fan for the County, and
29	WHEREAS, Plan2040 identifies and designates 9 region planning areas in the
30	County; and
31	
32	WHEREAS, Plan2040 specifies that the membership of the Stakeholder Advisory
33	Committees shall reflect the ethnic and minority diversity of the regions and will
34	include a broad cross-section of a region's civic, business, environmental, and other

stakeholders who reside in or own or manage a business in the region planning area,

such as long-time resident property owners or renters, recent resident property

owners or renters, homeowners' association or civic association board members,

local business representatives, home builders, real estate developers or brokers,

35

36

37

38

military members or other relevant government agency employees or contractors, affordable housing advocates, community or social organization members, environmental organization members, commercial or maritime association members, school organization members, youth adult representatives, local recreation council or group members, and farming and agriculture representatives; and

WHEREAS, the County Executive has nominated members of the Stakeholder Advisory Committee for Region Planning Area No. 3, as identified in Plan2040 who meet the eligibility requirements of § 18-2-103(e) and Plan2040; and

WHEREAS, the County Council, after a public hearing, finds that the County Executive's nominees meet the eligibility requirements of § 18-2-103(e) and Plan2040, and are qualified to serve on the Stakeholder Advisory Committee for Region Planning Area No. 3, as the region is identified in Plan2040; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the County Council of Anne Arundel County, Maryland, That it approves the following appointments to serve on the Stakeholder Advisory Committee for Region Planning Area No. 3, as the region is identified in Plan2040:

1. Alyssa Shirk (Recent Resident, Military, Department of Defense, or Other Relevant Government Agency, or Contractor, and Member of HOA or Civic Association Board, and Community/Social Organization);

2. Brian Kwesiga (Recent Resident, Military, Department of Defense, or Other Relevant Government Agency, or Contractor, and Member of Community/Social Organization);

3. Emily Pate (Local Business Representative, Home Builder/ Real Estate Developer, and Member of Commercial or Maritime Association);

4. Jason Lee Morgan (Recent Resident, and Member of HOA or Civic Association Board, and Community/Social Organization);

5. JoAnne Zoller (Long-Time Resident, and Member of Environmental Organization, Community/Social Organization, and School Organization,);

6. Kristin H. Feliciano (Local Business Representative, and Member of HOA or Civic Association Board, and Commercial or Maritime Association);

7. LeNiece Ozuzu (Recent Resident, and Member of HOA or Civic Association Board, and School Organization);

8. Phillip Holloway (Long-Time Resident, and Military, Department of Defense, or Other Relevant Government Agency, or Contractor);

9. Richard May (Local Business Representative, Home Builder/Real Estate Developer, Affordable Housing Advocate, and Member of Commercial or Maritime Association);

10. Sarah Bowley (Long-Time Resident, Local Business Representative, Affordable Housing Advocate, and Member of HOA or Civic Association Board, and Local Recreation Council or Group);

11. Don Rau, as recommended by the Councilmember from Councilmanic District 1 (Long-Time Resident, Military, Department of Defense, or Other Relevant Government Agency, or Contractor, and Member of HOA or Civic Association Board, Commercial or Maritime Association, and School Organization);

12. Michelle Payton, as recommended by the Councilmember from Councilmanic District 2 (Resident, Local Business Representative, Home Builder/Real Estate Developer, and Affordable Housing Advocate);

13. Alyssa Jones, as recommended by the Councilmember from Councilmanic District 3 (Recent Resident, Military, Department of Defense, or Other Relevant Government Agency, or Contractor, and Member of HOA or Civic Association Board, Community/Social Organization, Commercial or Maritime Association, and Local Recreation Council or Group);

14. Michael Young, as recommended by the Councilmember from Councilmanic District 4 (Long-Time Resident, Military, Department of Defense, or Other Relevant Government Agency, or Contractor, and Member of Community/Social Organization, and Local Recreation Council or Group); and

15. Ronald T. Davis, as recommended by the Councilmember from Councilmanic District 5 (Resident, Local Business Representative, Home Builder/Real Estate Developer, Real Estate Broker, and Member of Community/Social Organization, and Commercial or Maritime Association); and be it further

*Resolved*, That copies of this Resolution be sent to County Executive Steuart Pittman; Janssen Evelyn, Deputy Chief Administrative Officer for Land Use; Jenny Jarkowski, Planning and Zoning Officer; and Kaley Schultze, Boards and Commissions Coordinator.

READ AND PASSED this 18th day of September, 2023.

By Order:

Administrative Officer

I HEREBY CERTIFY THAT RESOLUTION NO. 34-23 IS TRUE AND CORRECT AND DULY ADOPTED BY THE COUNTY COUNCIL OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY.

Peter I. Smith Chair