

2664 Riva Road, P.O. Box 6675 Annapolis, MD 21401 410-222-7450

Gustav S. Kurtz, Jr. Chair, Planning Advisory Board

February 8, 2022

The Honorable Steuart Pittman, County Executive Anne Arundel County Arundel Center, P.O. Box 2700 Annapolis, Maryland 21404

> RE: Bill 17-22: An Ordinance Concerning: Planning and Development - Master Plan for Water Supply and Sewerage Systems

Dear County Executive Pittman:

The Planning Advisory Board (PAB) is a citizen advisory board created by §532 of the Anne Arundel County Charter. Under § 533 (b) of the Charter, the PAB shall make advisory recommendations to the Planning and Zoning Officer and the County Council relating to various matters including Master Plans.

The PAB met on January 26, 2022 and received an overview of Bill 17-22 from the Office of Planning and Zoning staff. This Ordinance is for the purpose of changing the West County Elementary School site and one neighboring parcel from No Public Sewer Service to Planned Sewer Service, and from No Public Water Service to Planned Water Service. This would also change the Water Pressure Zone (WPZ) from Rural WPZ to be included in the King Heights/Odenton 330 WPZ and Sewer Service Area (SSA) from Rural SSA to be included in the Patuxent SSA. This Amendment will allow Anne Arundel County Public Schools to develop the West County Elementary School to serve the Two Rivers Development and surrounding area.

Following the presentation and discussion among the members of the PAB, the Board voted 6-0 to offer an advisory recommendation of approval of Bill 17-22.

If there are any questions regarding our recommendation, please contact Michael Stringer in the Office of Planning and Zoning at pzstri20@aacounty.org.

Sincerely,

Gustav S. Kurtz, Jr.

Chair

CC: Matt Power, Chief Administrative Officer, Office of the County Executive Lori Rhodes, Deputy Chief Administrative Officer for Land Use, Office of the County Executive

Matthew Johnston, Environmental Policy Officer, Office of the County Executive Laura Corby, Administrative Officer, Anne Arundel County Council Members of the Planning Advisory Board

Alex Szachnowicz, Chief Operating Officer, Anne Arundel County Public Schools Steve Kaii-Ziegler, Planning and Zoning Officer, Office of Planning and Zoning (OPZ)

Christina Pompa, Deputy Planning and Zoning Officer, Planning Division, OPZ Cindy Carrier, Planning Administrator, Long Range Planning Section, OPZ Michael Stringer, Planning Board Administrator, Long Range Planning Section, OPZ Desirae Williams, Planner III, Long Range Planning Section, OPZ