## COUNTY COUNCIL OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY, MARYLAND

Legislative Session 2023, Legislative Day No. 11

Resolution No. 22-23

## Introduced by Mr. Smith, Chair (by request of the County Executive)

## By the County Council, June 5, 2023

1 2	RESOLUTION approving the nomination of members to the Anne Arundel County Human Relations Commission
3	
4	WHEREAS, § 3-5A-101 of the County Code provides that there is a Human
5	Relations Commission to be known as the Anne Arundel County Human Relations
6	Commission ("Commission"); and
7	
8	WHEREAS, § 3-5A-102 of the County Code provides that the purpose of the
9 10	Commission is to promote and enhance the ability of all Anne Arundel County residents to pursue their lives free of discrimination; and
10	residents to pursue then rives nee of disermination, and
11	WHEREAS, § 3-5A-103 of the County Code provides that the Commission shall
13	consist of 13 voting members, all of whom shall be residents of the County,
14	nominated by the County Executive and approved by resolution of the County
15	Council; and
16	WHEREAS, § 3-5A-103 of the County Code further provides that there shall be
17	
18	one member from each councilmanic district who is recommended by the County
19 20	Council member for the district, and four members shall be recommended by the County Executive; and
20 21	County Executive, and
21	WHEREAS, § 3-5A-104 provides that after the expiration of the initial terms, all
23	members shall serve three year terms; and
24	memoers shan serve mee year terms, and
25	WHEREAS, § 3-5A-104 further provides that vacancies shall be filled for an
26	unexpired term in the manner of the original appointment; and
27	
28	WHEREAS, Joseph Clapsaddle, a member recommended by the County Executive
29	with a term ending on November 17, 2024, resigned on February 15, 2023; and
30	
31	WHEREAS, Katy Laurel Edwards, a resident of District 6 with a term ending
32	November 17, 2023, resigned on April 21, 2023; and
33	
34	WHEREAS, Jikaela Call, a resident of District 7 with a term ending November 17,
35	2024, resigned on April 19, 2023; and
36	
37	WHEREAS, pursuant to § 3-5A-103(a)(2) of the County Code, the County
38	Executive has recommended and nominated, subject to approval by the County

Resolution No. 22-23 Page No. 2

Council, Jaden Farris, a resident of the County, to serve the remainder of a term 1 ending November 17, 2024; and 2

WHEREAS, pursuant to § 3-5A-103(a)(1) of the County Code, David Michaels 4 was recommended by the Councilmember from District 6 and nominated by the 5 County Executive to serve the remainder of a term ending November 17, 2023, and 6 a three year term commencing on November 18, 2023, and ending on November 7 17, 2026; and 8

WHEREAS, Michelle Denton was recommended by the Councilmember from 10 District 7 and nominated by the County Executive to serve the remainder of a term 11 ending November 17, 2024; and 12

WHEREAS, the County Council finds that Jaden Farris, David Michaels, and 14 Michelle Denton meet the eligibility requirements under § 3-5A-103 of the County 15 Code and are qualified to serve on the Commission; now, therefore, be it 16

17

13

3

9

Resolved by the County Council of Anne Arundel County, Maryland, That it hereby 18 approves the appointment to the Anne Arundel County Human Relations Commission of 19 Jaden Farris to serve the remainder of a term ending November 17, 2024; David Michaels 20 to serve the remainder of a term ending November 17, 2023, and a three year term 21 commencing on November 18, 2023, and ending on November 17, 2026; and Michelle 22 23 Denton to serve the remainder of a term ending November 17, 2024; and be it further

24

*Resolved*, That a copy of this Resolution be sent to Steuart Pittman, County Executive; 25 Eugene Peterson, Chair, Anne Arundel County Human Relations Commission; Kaley 26 Schultze, Boards and Commissions Coordinator; and Jaden Farris, David Michaels, and 27 Michelle Denton, appointees. 28

READ AND PASSED this 5th day of June, 2023.

By Order:

Laura Corbv

Administrative Officer

I HEREBY CERTIFY THAT RESOLUTION NO. 22-23 IS TRUE AND CORRECT AND DULY ADOPTED BY THE COUNTY COUNCIL OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY.

Peter I. Smith Chair