COUNTY COUNCIL OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY, MARYLAND

Legislative Session 2021, Legislative Day No. 20

Resolution No. 57-21

Introduced by Ms. Lacey, Chair (by request of the County Executive)

By the County Council, October 18, 2021

	·
1 2	RESOLUTION approving the nominations for appointment to the Stakeholder Advisory Committee for Region Planning Area No. 7
3	114 / 1551 J. C.
4	WHEREAS, § 18-2-103(d) of the County Code provides that each General
5	Development Plan adopted by the County Council shall designate at least seven
6	region planning areas encompassing all of the unincorporated areas of the County
7	and shall provide for the creation of region plans for each region planning area; and
8	
9	WHEREAS, § 18-2-103(d) further provides that the General Development Plan
10	shall specify the composition of Stakeholder Advisory Committees, which shall
11	include between 9 and 15 citizens who are residents or, own property in, or have an
12	interest in land use planning in the region planning area, and who are nominated by
13	the County Executive and approved by Resolution of the County Council; and
14	
15	WHEREAS, § 18-2-103(d) also provides that two-thirds of the members of each
16	Stakeholder Advisory Committee shall be residents of the region, and that the
17	committees shall include at least one resident of each councilmanic district included
18	in the region planning area, who shall be recommended to the County Executive by
19	the Councilmember from the district; and
20	
21	WHEREAS, § 18-2-103(d) states that the Stakeholder Advisory Committees will
22	work with the Office of Planning and Zoning to develop the region plans and to
23	ensure that the region plans are consistent with the goals and policies contained in
24	the General Development Plan; and
25	WWYEDELG 1 DULY 11 01 1 0 0 0 11 1 1 (DL 2010) 1
26	WHEREAS, by Bill No. 11-21, the County Council adopted "Plan2040", the
27	General Development Plan for the County; and
28	WHITENESS DI 2040 II I'M I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I
29	WHEREAS, Plan2040 identifies and designates 9 region planning areas in the
30	County; and
31	WHIEDEAC DI 2040 'C' 4 44 1 1 1' C4 C4 1 1 1 4 1'
32	WHEREAS, Plan2040 specifies that the membership of the Stakeholder Advisory
33	Committees shall reflect the ethnic and minority diversity of the regions and will

include a broad cross-section of a region's civic, business, environmental, and other

stakeholders who reside in or own or manage a business in the planning area, such

as long-time resident property owners or renters, recent resident property owners

or renters, homeowners' association or civic association board members, local

business representatives, home builders, real estate developers or brokers, military

34

35

36

37

38

members or other relevant government agency employees or contractors; affordable housing advocates, community or social organization members, environmental organization members, commercial or maritime association members, school organization members, youth adult representatives, local recreation council or group members, and farming and agriculture representatives; and

1 2

WHEREAS, the County Executive has nominated members of the Stakeholder Advisory Committee for Region Planning Area No. 7, as identified in Plan2040 who meet the eligibility requirements of § 18-2-103(d) and Plan2040; and

WHEREAS, the County Council, after a public hearing, finds that the County Executive's nominees meet the eligibility requirements of § 18-2-103(d) and Plan2040, and are qualified to serve on the Stakeholder Advisory Committee for Region Planning Area No. 7, as the region is identified in Plan2040; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the County Council of Anne Arundel County, Maryland, That it approves the following appointments to serve on the Stakeholder Advisory Committee for Region Planning Area No. 7, as the region is identified in Plan2040:

1. Troy Belt (Long-Time Resident Property Owner)

2. Lawrence Burrows (Long-Time Resident Property Owner, Home Builder/Real Estate Developer, Affordable Housing Advocate, and Member of Community/Social Organization, and School Organization)

3. Linda Dodge (Resident Property Owner, and Member of HOA or Civic Association Board, and Community/Social Organization)

4. Constance Harold (Resident Property Renter, Affordable Housing Advocate, and Member of Community/Social Organization)

5. Bino Harris (Recent Resident Property Owner, and Military, Department of Defense, or Other Relevant Government Agency, or Contractor)

6. Emile Henault (Recent Resident Property Owner)

7. Charles James (Long-Time Resident Property Owner, and Member of HOA or Civic Association Board, and Community/Social Organization)

8. Priscilla Kania (Recent Resident Property Owner, and Member of HOA or Civic Association Board, Environmental Organization, and Community/Social Organization)

9. Katherine Mahood (Long-Time Resident Property Owner, Local Business Representative, and Member of HOA or Civic Association Board, and Commercial or Maritime Association)

Civic Association Board, and Environmental Organization) 2 3 11. Jesse Raudales (Member of Community/Social Organization) 4 5 12. Tony Spencer (Long-Time Resident Property Owner, Local Business 6 Representative, and Member of HOA or Civic Association Board) 7 8 13. Leo Wilson (Long-Time Resident Property Owner, Local Business Representative, 9 Home Builder/Real Estate Developer, and Member of HOA or Civic Association Board); 10 11 14. John Hollander, as recommended by the Councilmember from Councilmanic 12 District 6 (Recent Resident Property Owner, Local Business Representative, Affordable 13 Housing Advocate, Real Estate Broker, and Member of HOA or Civic Association Board, 14 Community/Social Organization, and Commercial or Maritime Association); and 15 16 15. Lily Openshaw, as recommended by the Councilmember from Councilmanic 17 District 7 (Long-Time Resident Property Owner, and Member of HOA or Civic 18 Association Board, Environmental Organization, Community/Social Organization, and 19 Commercial or Maritime Association); and be it further 20 21 Resolved, That copies of this Resolution be sent to County Executive Steuart Pittman; 22 Lori Rhodes, Deputy Chief Administrative Officer for Land Use; Steven Kaii-Ziegler, 23 Planning and Zoning Officer; and Meghan Brown, Coordinator of Boards and 24 Commissions. 25 READ AND PASSED this 1st day of November, 2021.

10. Anna Mudd Griffith (Recent Resident Property Owner, and Member of HOA or

1

By Order:

Administrative Officer

I HEREBY CERTIFY THAT RESOLUTION NO. 57-21 IS TRUE AND CORRECT AND DULY ADOPTED BY THE COUNTY COUNCIL OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY.

Sarah F. Lacey Chair