COUNTY COUNCIL OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY, MARYLAND

Legislative Session 2021, Legislative Day No. 20

Resolution No. 56-21

Introduced by Ms. Lacey, Chair (by request of the County Executive)

By the County Council, October 18, 2021

	By the country country, colored 10, 2021
1 2	RESOLUTION approving the nominations for appointment to the Stakeholder Advisory Committee for Region Planning Area No. 4
3	
4	WHEREAS, § 18-2-103(d) of the County Code provides that each General
5	Development Plan adopted by the County Council shall designate at least seven
6	region planning areas encompassing all of the unincorporated areas of the County
7	and shall provide for the creation of region plans for each region planning area; and
8	
9	WHEREAS, § 18-2-103(d) further provides that the General Development Plan
10	shall specify the composition of Stakeholder Advisory Committees, which shall
11	include between 9 and 15 citizens who are residents or, own property in, or have an
12	interest in land use planning in the region planning area, and who are nominated by
13	the County Executive and approved by Resolution of the County Council; and
14	
15	WHEREAS, § 18-2-103(d) also provides that two-thirds of the members of each
16	Stakeholder Advisory Committee shall be residents of the region, and that the
17	committees shall include at least one resident of each councilmanic district included
18	in the region planning area, who shall be recommended to the County Executive by
19	the Councilmember from the district; and
20	WHIEDEAG 6 10 2 102(1) + + + 1 + +1 - G - 11 - +1 - G - 11
21	WHEREAS, § 18-2-103(d) states that the Stakeholder Advisory Committees will
22	work with the Office of Planning and Zoning to develop the region plans and to
23	ensure that the region plans are consistent with the goals and policies contained in
24	the General Development Plan; and
25	WHEDEAS by Dill No. 11.21 the County Council edented "Dlen 2040" the
26	WHEREAS, by Bill No. 11-21, the County Council adopted "Plan2040", the General Development Plan for the County; and
27	General Development Flan for the County, and
28	WHEREAS, Plan2040 identifies and designates 9 region planning areas in the
29	County; and
30 31	County, and
32	WHEREAS, Plan2040 specifies that the membership of the Stakeholder Advisory
32	with Reads, I lanzo to specifies that the membership of the stakeholder Advisory

33

34

35

36

37

38

Committees shall reflect the ethnic and minority diversity of the regions and will include a broad cross-section of a region's civic, business, environmental, and other stakeholders who reside in or own or manage a business in the planning area, such as long-time resident property owners or renters, recent resident property owners or renters, homeowners' association or civic association board members, local business representatives, home builders, real estate developers or brokers, military members or other relevant government agency employees or contractors; affordable housing advocates, community or social organization members, environmental organization members, commercial or maritime association members, school organization members, youth adult representatives, local recreation council or group members, and farming and agriculture representatives; and

1 2

WHEREAS, the County Executive has nominated members of the Stakeholder Advisory Committee for Region Planning Area No. 4, as identified in Plan2040 who meet the eligibility requirements of § 18-2-103(d) and Plan2040; and

WHEREAS, the County Council, after a public hearing, finds that the County Executive's nominees meet the eligibility requirements of § 18-2-103(d) and Plan2040, and are qualified to serve on the Stakeholder Advisory Committee for Region Planning Area No. 4, as the region is identified in Plan2040; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the County Council of Anne Arundel County, Maryland, That it approves the following appointments to serve on the Stakeholder Advisory Committee for Region Planning Area No. 4, as the region is identified in Plan2040:

1. George Breeden (Long-Time Resident Property Owner, Local Business Representative, and Member of HOA or Civic Association Board, Environmental Organization, Community/Social Organization, Commercial or Maritime Association, and Local Recreation Council or Group);

2. Emma Buchman (Long-Time Resident Property Renter, and Member of HOA or Civic Association Board, and Community/Social Organization);

3. Lauren Burns (Resident, Affordable Housing Advocate, and Member of HOA or Civic Association Board, and Community/Social Organization);

4. Ann Fligsten (Long-Time Resident Property Owner, and Member of HOA or Civic Association Board, Environmental Organization, and Community/Social Organization);

5. Joshua Fornwalt (Recent Resident Property Owner, Home Builder/ Real Estate Developer, and Member of HOA or Civic Association Board, and Community/Social Organization);

6. Melissa Hagan (Long-Time Resident Property Owner, Local Business Representative, and Member of Community/Social Organization, School Organization, and Local Recreation Council or Group);

7. Thomas Hampton (Long-Time Resident Property Owner, and Member of Environmental Organization, and Community/Social Organization);

 8. Ben Hilliard (Long-Time Resident Property Owner, Local Business Representative, and Member of HOA or Civic Association Board, Community/Social Organization, Commercial or Maritime Association, and School Organization);

9. Michael Oleru (Resident Property Owner, Real Estate Broker, and Member of HOA or Civic Association Board);10. Shayla Powers (Recent Resident Property Renter, and Member of

Community/Social Organization, and School Organization);

5 6

7

8

1

2

4

11. Walter Reiter (Long-Time Resident Property Renter, Local Business Representative, and Member of HOA or Civic Association Board, Environmental Organization, Community/Social Organization, Commercial or Maritime Association, and Local Recreation Council or Group);

10 11 12

12. Helen Slack (Long-Time Resident Property Owner, and Member of Community/Social Organization, and School Organization);

13 14 15

13. Kevin Haines, as recommended by the Councilmember from Councilmanic District 2 (Long-time Resident Property Renter; and Local Business Representative);

16 17 18

19

14. John Spencer, as recommended by the Councilmember from Councilmanic District 3 (Long-time Resident Property Renter, and Member of HOA or Civic Association Board, Environmental Organization, and Community/Social Organization); and

202122

23

24

15. Stephen Miller, as recommended by the Councilmember from Councilmanic District 5 (Recent Resident Property Owner, Affordable Housing Advocate, and Member of HOA or Civic Association Board, Environmental Organization, and Community/Social Organization); and be it further

252627

28

29

30

Resolved, That copies of this Resolution be sent to County Executive Steuart Pittman; Lori Rhodes, Deputy Chief Administrative Officer for Land Use; Steven Kaii-Ziegler, Planning and Zoning Officer; and Meghan Brown, Coordinator of Boards and Commissions.

READ AND PASSED this 1st day of November, 2021.

By Order:

Administrative Officer

I HEREBY CERTIFY THAT RESOLUTION NO. 56-21 IS TRUE AND CORRECT AND DULY ADOPTED BY THE COUNTY COUNCIL OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY.

Sarah F. Lacey

Chair