COUNTY COUNCIL OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY, MARYLAND

Legislative Session 2021, Legislative Day No. 20

Resolution No. 55-21

Introduced by Ms. Lacey, Chair (by request of the County Executive)

By the County Council, October 18, 2021

1 2	RESOLUTION approving the nominations for appointment to the Stakeholder Advisory Committee for Region Planning Area No. 2
3	
4	WHEREAS, § 18-2-103(d) of the County Code provides that each General
5	Development Plan adopted by the County Council shall designate at least seven
6 7	region planning areas encompassing all of the unincorporated areas of the County and shall provide for the creation of region plans for each region planning area; and
8	and shall provide for the creation of region plans for each region planning area, and
8 9	WHEREAS, § 18-2-103(d) further provides that the General Development Plan
10	shall specify the composition of Stakeholder Advisory Committees, which shall
11	include between 9 and 15 citizens who are residents or, own property in, or have an
12	interest in land use planning in the region planning area, and who are nominated by
13	the County Executive and approved by Resolution of the County Council; and
14	
15	WHEREAS, § 18-2-103(d) also provides that two-thirds of the members of each
16	Stakeholder Advisory Committee shall be residents of the region, and that the
17	committees shall include at least one resident of each councilmanic district included
18	in the region planning area, who shall be recommended to the County Executive by
19	the Councilmember from the district; and
20	
21	WHEREAS, § 18-2-103(d) states that the Stakeholder Advisory Committees will
22	work with the Office of Planning and Zoning to develop the region plans and to
23	ensure that the region plans are consistent with the goals and policies contained in
24	the General Development Plan; and
25	
26	WHEREAS, by Bill No. 11-21, the County Council adopted "Plan2040", the
27	General Development Plan for the County; and
28	
29	WHEREAS, Plan2040 identifies and designates 9 region planning areas in the
30	County; and
31	
32	WHEREAS, Plan2040 specifies that the membership of the Stakeholder Advisory
33	Committees shall reflect the ethnic and minority diversity of the regions and will
34	include a broad cross-section of a region's civic, business, environmental, and other
35	stakeholders who reside in or own or manage a business in the planning area, such
36	as long-time resident property owners or renters, recent resident property owners
37	or renters, homeowners' association or civic association board members, local
38	business representatives, home builders, real estate developers or brokers, military

Resolution No. 55-21 Page No. 2

1	members or other relevant government agency employees or contractors;
2	affordable housing advocates, community or social organization members,
3	environmental organization members, commercial or maritime association
4	members, school organization members, youth adult representatives, local
5	recreation council or group members, and farming and agriculture representatives;
6	and
7	
8	WHEREAS, the County Executive has nominated members of the Stakeholder
9	Advisory Committee for Region Planning Area No. 2, as identified in Plan2040
10	who meet the eligibility requirements of § 18-2-103(d) and Plan2040; and
11	
12	WHEREAS, the County Council, after a public hearing, finds that the County
13	Executive's nominees meet the eligibility requirements of § 18-2-103(d) and
14	Plan2040, and are qualified to serve on the Stakeholder Advisory Committee for
15	Region Planning Area No. 2, as the region is identified in Plan2040; now, therefore,
16	be it
17	
18	Resolved by the County Council of Anne Arundel County, Maryland, That it approves
19	the following appointments to serve on the Stakeholder Advisory Committee for Region
20	Planning Area No. 2, as the region is identified in Plan2040:
21	
22	1. Kemi Adetola (Recent Resident Property Owner, and Member of Community/Social
23	Organization);
24	
25	2. Keshia Baird (Recent Resident Property Owner, and Member of Community/Social
26	Organization);
27	2 Cuamica Dama (Lang Time Desident Dreparty Owner and Mamber of
28	3. Guernica Borne (Long-Time Resident Property Owner, and Member of Community/Social Organization);
29 30	Community/Social Organization),
30 31	4. W. Thomas Fahs (Local Business Representative, and Home Builder/Real Estate
32	Developer);
33	Developer),
34	5. Joseph Franco (Resident Property Owner, and Member of Community/Social
35	Organization);
36	organization);
37	6. Patience Frisby (Resident Property Renter, and Member of Community/Social
38	Organization);
39	orgunization);
40	7. Nashara Hilton (Recent Resident Property Renter, Young Adult Representative, and
41	Member of Community/Social Organization);
42	memoer of community/ocean organization,
43	8. James Krapf (Long-Time Resident Property Owner, Local Business Representative,
44	Home Builder/Real Estate Developer, and Affordable Housing Advocate);
45	Terre Denne Devereper, and Thioradore Housing Parodate),
46	9. Kevin McPartland (Long-Time Resident Property Owner, and Member of
47	Community/Social Organization, and School Organization);
.,	

10. Angela Thomas (Resident Property Owner, Local Business Representative, and
 Military, Department of Defense, or Other Relevant Government Agency or Contractor);

4 11. Mark Thompson (Local Business Representative, and Member of 5 Community/Social Organization);

- 6
 7 12. April Walker (Long-Time Resident Property Owner, Local Business
 8 Representative, and Member of Community/Social Organization, and Local Recreation
 9 Council or Group);
- 11 13. Nichole Walsh Meadows (Resident, and Member of Community/Social
 12 Organization, and School Organization);

14 14. Valentine Kravets, as recommended by the Councilmember from Councilmanic
15 District 1 (Recent Resident Property Owner, and Member of HOA or Civic Association
16 Board, and Community/Social Organization); and

17

10

13

3

- 18 15. Marilee Tortorelli, as recommended by the Councilmember from Councilmanic
 19 District 4 (Resident Property Owner, Local Business Representative, and Home
 20 Builder/Real Estate Developer); and be it further
- 21

Resolved, That copies of this Resolution be sent to County Executive Steuart Pittman;
 Lori Rhodes, Deputy Chief Administrative Officer for Land Use; Steven Kaii-Ziegler,
 Planning and Zoning Officer; and Meghan Brown, Coordinator of Boards and
 Commissions.

READ AND PASSED this 1st day of November, 2021.

By Order:

Laura Corby *U* Administrative Officer

I HEREBY CERTIFY THAT RESOLUTION NO. 55-21 IS TRUE AND CORRECT AND DULY ADOPTED BY THE COUNTY COUNCIL OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY.

Sarah F. Lacey Chair