

ARUNDEL CENTER P.O. BOX 2700 - ANNAPOLIS, MARYLAND 21404 Phone: 410-222-1821 - Fax: 410-222-1155

www.aacounty.org

STEUART PITTMAN County Executive

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 54

TO RENAME, REDEFINE, AND RESTRUCTURE THE ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY AGRICULTURE COMMISSION

WHEREAS, the Agriculture, Farming and Agritourism Commission was created in 2017 by Executive Order to advise and report to the County Executive and the County Office of Planning and Zoning on the promotion, coordination, development, furtherance, and establishment of agriculture, farming, and agritourism in the County; and

WHEREAS, promoting the commercial viability of farming is a goal of Plan2040, to preserve open space, grow our economy, improve our diet, store carbon, and absorb stormwater; and

WHEREAS, it is farmers themselves who know best how to make their businesses commercially viable; and

WHEREAS, this administration is committed to protecting agricultural lands, providing a voice for farmers, increasing local food production, improving soil health, and mitigating crop damage, in addition to establishing, growing, sustaining, and marketing agriculture-based programs, businesses, and products.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, Steuart Pittman, County Executive, by virtue of the authority vested in me by the Charter and laws of Anne Arundel County, Maryland, hereby order and direct on this 21st day of December 2021, as follows:

- 1. The Anne Arundel County Agriculture, Farming and Agritourism Commission shall be renamed the Anne Arundel County Agriculture Commission (the "Commission") and restructured to expand its impact on the agricultural, farming, and agritourism industries. This Executive Order shall rescind and supersede Executive Order No. 24 issued by Steven R. Schuh on September 13, 2017.
- 2. The Commission shall meet at least quarterly to perform its functions under this Executive Order. All meetings shall comport with the Maryland Open Meetings Act and relevant provisions of the Anne Arundel County Code.

Executive Order No. 54 Page No. 2

- 3. The Commission shall consist of thirteen (13) voting members, as follows:
- A. nine (9) individuals who own, manage, or operate a working farm in the County, at least one representing each of the following sectors: livestock, equine, grain, hay, fruit/viticulture, vegetable, and nursery/greenhouse. Of these 9 voting members:
- i. at least three (3) individuals must also participate in one or more of the following accessory use activities: agritourism, on-farm alcohol production, or value-added agriculture (processing);
- ii. at least three (3) individuals must represent farm operations smaller than 50 acres; and
- iii. at least three (3) individuals must represent farm operations of 50 acres or above;
 - B. one (1) representative from the Anne Arundel County Farm Bureau;
 - C. one (1) representative from the Agricultural Preservation Advisory Board; and
- D. two (2) individuals involved in Future Farmers of America, 4-H or other youth agricultural education program, or are affiliated with Anne Arundel County Young Farmers.
- 4. The County Executive shall appoint a Chair and a Vice Chair from among the voting members of the Commission. The Chair shall: preside at all meetings of the Commission; meet as requested with the County Executive and other County representatives; provide information to the Commission; represent the Commission at relevant meetings and functions; oversee preparation of the reports to the County Executive; enforce compliance with this Executive Order, the Maryland Open Meetings Act, the County Code, and any bylaws adopted by the Commission.
- 5. Members of the Commission shall be appointed by the County Executive for four (4) year terms co-terminus with the term of the County Executive. Members shall serve no more than three (3) consecutive terms. A member whose term has expired shall serve until a successor is appointed. Members shall serve at the pleasure of the County Executive and may be removed at any time, with or without cause. Members shall be considered removed for cause if they miss more than one-half of the meetings held during a twelve (12) month period.
- 6. The Commission shall include the following nine (9) non-voting, ex-officio members, or their designees:
 - A. the Deputy Chief Administrative Officer for Land Use;
 - B. the Health Officer;
 - C. the County Attorney;

Executive Order 27 Page 3

- D. the Director of the Office of Emergency Management
- E. the Agricultural and Woodland Preservation Program Administrator in the Department of Recreation and Parks;
 - F. one (1) representative of the Anne Arundel Economic Development Corporation;
 - G. one (1) representative of the Anne Arundel County Soil Conservation District; and
- H. two (2) consultants, directors, or professors in the area of agricultural education at a college, university or related non-profit organization within the State of Maryland, one being the University of Maryland Anne Arundel County Agricultural Extension Agent.
 - 7. The duties and responsibilities of the Commission shall be to:
- A. advise and report to the County Executive on the promotion, coordination, establishment, furtherance, protection, and community impacts of proposed and actual agriculture, farming, agritourism, and land preservation uses within the County to ensure that industries remain economically viable while preserving agricultural land;
- B. advise and report to the County Executive about activities or land uses that fall within the definition of agriculture, farming, agritourism, and related events as set forth in the County Code, as it may be amended from time to time by Ordinance of the County Council, and any recommended changes to related provisions in the County Code;
- C. assist in educating residents of the County about agriculture, farming, and agritourism within the County and promote agricultural education and careers; and
- D. provide information as requested by the County Executive consistent with this Executive Order on the topics of agriculture, farming, agritourism, related events, and land preservation within the County.
- 8. The Commission shall submit an annual report to the County Executive that sets forth the status of plans and progress of the responsibilities set forth herein, as well as goals and priorities for the next year.
- 9. The Commission shall meet annually with the County Executive or the designee of the County Executive.
- 10. A majority of the voting members of the Commission shall constitute a quorum for all purposes.
 - 11. Members of the Commission shall serve without compensation.

Executive Order No. 54 Page No. 4

This Executive Order shall be archived at the Office of Law and remain in existence until altered or terminated by a subsequent Executive Order.

STEUART PITTMAN
County Executive

Approved as to form and legal sufficiency:

Gregory J. Swain County Attorney