

Gregory J. Swain, County Attorney

MEMORANDUM

То:	Council Members, Anne Arundel County Council	
From:	Lori L. Blair Klasmeier, Deputy County Attorney	/s/
Via:	Gregory J. Swain, County Attorney	/s/
Date:	September 21, 2020	
Subject:	Bill No. 78-20: Subdivision and Development - Development Impact Fee Funds	- Fees and Security – Use of

Legislative Summary

This summary was prepared by the Anne Arundel County Office of Law for use by members of the Anne Arundel County Council during consideration of Bill No. 78-20, a Bill that relates to the uses of development impact fee funds.

Background.

A person improving real property and thereby causing an impact on public schools, transportation, or public safety is required to pay development impact fees (§ 17-11-203(a) of the County Code), in accordance with schedules set forth in § 17-11-204. The fees collected are deposited into special funds set up for each type of fee (§ 17-11-208 of the County Code). Section 17-11-209 of the County Code limits the uses of development impact fees to funding capital improvements to expand the capacity of public schools, roads, and public safety facilities.

A reasonable nexus is required between development impact fees and the actual impacts of schools, roads, and public safety. Periodically, studies and analyses are required to ensure that the County's fees meet this test. These studies and analyses can be costly.

Purpose.

The purpose of the Bill is to allow development impact fees to be used to pay for the studies and analyses of the fees periodically required to ensure that the County's fees pass legal muster.

Legislative Summary – Bill No. 78-20 Page No. 2

<u>Summary</u>. In Section 1, § 17-11-209 is amended to add subsection (g) which allows development impact fees to be used to fund the studies and analyses required to determine the appropriate amount of development impact fees.

Section 2 (uncodified) provides that the bill takes effect 45 days after it becomes law.

The Office of Law is available to answer any additional questions regarding this Bill. Thank you.

cc: Honorable Steuart Pittman, County Executive Matthew Power, Chief Administrative Officer Dr. Kai Boggess-de Bruin, Chief of Staff Peter Baron, Director of Government Affairs Jim Beauchamp, Budget Officer Steve Kaii-Ziegler, Planning and Zoning Officer Linda Schuett, Legislative Counsel