Skip Navigation
Page Background

County Executive Pittman Sends Police Accountability Board Nominations to County Council

Annapolis, Maryland (June 6, 2022)– Anne Arundel County Executive Steuart Pittman nominated eight Anne Arundel County residents to serve on the County’s state-mandated Police Accountability Board. The nominees must be confirmed by the County Council before taking office.

“I want to thank the 89 residents who submitted applications to serve on this board. It shows our community’s dedication to justice and integrity,” County Executive Steuart Pittman said. “I am confident those nominated will serve our County faithfully, and help us to grow trust and engagement between our police officers and the communities that they serve and protect.”

The County Executive nominated the following eight residents:

  • Dr. Shawn Ashworth, educator and nonprofit leader

  • Barney Gomez, retired Special Agent and Vietnam veteran

  • Kymberly Jackson, attorney and law professor

  • Sarah Kivett, employee conduct investigator and former law enforcement officer

  • Dr. Kenneth Moore, pastor, professor, and retired firefighter

  • Jeanette Ortiz (chair), law and education policy expert

  • Daniel Watkins, Board-certified Nurse Executive and behavioral health professional

  • Anne Williams-Kinard, local business owner

The Council is set to hear the nominations on June 21, 2022.

Subscribe to RSS
RSS Feed