Skip Navigation
Page Background

County Executive Pittman Creates Youth Advisory Council and Youth Corps

Annapolis, Md. (August 17, 2020) Today, Anne Arundel County Executive Steuart Pittman signed Executive Order Number 28, creating the Anne Arundel County Youth Advisory Council and Youth Corps.  The County Executive’s action is intended to help identify and elevate the most important issues young people are confronting, while also legitimizing and prioritizing their voices in county government.  

The 20-member council will advise the County Executive on policy matters most impacting youth, strengthen opportunities for youth to engage in civic duties, and serve as advocates for issues that are important to them. 

“Until now, county government has failed to institutionalize a process to ensure that the perspectives of younger county residents are considered.  Young people are experts when it comes to knowing and to advocating for what is important in their lives and to their futures,” said County Executive Pittman.  “The Youth Corps and Youth Council is an acknowledgement that county youth have the largest stake in creating a strong community.” 

Youth council members will develop leadership and team building skills while creating and implementing strategies to ensure that future leadership in the county will have the necessary experiences and skills to better solve problems.  The council was selected through a competitive process that included public high schools, as well as private, homeschooled and university students.  

“We received 117 applications and selecting the final 20 was a challenge because they were all strong,” said Laila Jones, Community Engagement Officer and staff advisor for the Youth Advisory Council. “I look forward to working with this group of passionate, articulate, and civic-minded young people who will be our leaders in the years to come.”

  • J. Ostorga Public High School

  • J. Hayes Public High School

  • B. Omisore Public High School

  • H. Thompson Public High School

  • T. Kim Public High School

  • A. Hanif Public High School

  • S. Singleton Public High School

  • H. Owens Public High School

  • J. Mitchell Public High School

  • I. Steinbach Public High School

  • A. Madarang Public High School

  • C. Curran Public High School

  • A. Farrar Public High School

  • A. Malik Public High School

  • C. Sturgell Public High School

  • C. Schrader Homeschool

  • M. Collins Public High School

  • D. Babalola Private School

  • M. Medley Higher Institute of Learning

  • L. Acosta Higher Institute of Learning

The Youth Corps is open to youth between the ages of 14 and 22 years of age. The Corps will receive communications from the County Executive’s Office and invitations to special events, including two meetings with the County Executive annually. 

To learn more about the Youth Advisory Council, the Youth Corps and other engagement opportunities, visit  The first meeting of the Youth Advisory Council is August 27, 2020 at 5:00 p.m.

Subscribe to RSS
RSS Feed
Browse By Date
1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30