Skip Navigation
Page Background

Anne Arundel County Attorney Nancy Duden Named as The Daily Record 2016 Leadership in Law Award Winner

Baltimore, MD., (March 28, 2016) — This week The Daily Record announced it has selected County Attorney Nancy Duden as a recipient of its 2016 Leadership in Law Award.


“The citizens of Anne Arundel County are fortunate to have Nancy working for them every day,” said County Executive Steve Schuh. “Her wise and steady counsel has been an undeniable benefit to our administration and county government as a whole.”


Thirty-eight members of the legal community throughout Maryland were recognized for their outstanding work. The top winner of this year’s Leadership in Law Awards will be announced at the celebration event May 5 in Annapolis. The honoree will be determined by a vote of this year's Leadership in Law winners.


In addition, The Daily Record added two new categories to the Leadership in Law Awards: the Generation J.D. and Lifetime Achievement awards. Generation J.D. shines a light on young and rising lawyers who are already making their mark on the profession, in the courtroom and the community. The Lifetime Achievement award honors lawyers and judges who have made a career of exemplifying what it means to be a leader in the law.


Nominations for all the awards were received from The Daily Record’s readers, in addition to area law firms, bar associations, chambers of commerce and the business and legal communities at large. Nominees were asked to complete an application that outlined their career accomplishments, community involvement and mentoring activities that would distinguish them as outstanding leaders in the law.


The Daily Record launched the Leadership in Law Awards in 2001 as a way to recognize the outstanding work being done by members of the legal community throughout Maryland.


"Leadership in Law honorees devote time, talent and energy to bettering the legal profession in addition to the communities in which they live and work," said Suzanne Fischer-Huettner, publisher of The Daily Record. "They demonstrate a commitment to improving communities throughout our state through notable pro bono work and other means. They are also committed to mentoring, which is a key component of this award. The Daily Record is pleased to honor them."


The 2016 Leadership in Law Awards will be presented May 5 at a reception and dinner starting at 5:30 p.m. at The Westin Annapolis, 100 Westgate Circle in Annapolis.  Winners will be profiled in a special magazine that will be inserted into the May 6 issue of The Daily Record and available online at


Sponsors of The Daily Record’s 2016 Leadership in Law Awards include Congratulatory Sponsors Epsilon Registration and VPC, Inc. and Table Sponsor Ellin & Tucker.


For more information about sponsorships and tickets for The Daily Record’s 2016 Leadership in Law Awards, visit


2016 Leadership in Law Honorees


Robert D. Anbinder, Baltimore City Law Department

Hon. Tiffany H. Anderson, The District Court of Maryland

Ivan J. Bates, Bates & Garcia PC

Marnell A. Cooper, Palmer|Cooper LLC

David V. Diggs, Kahn, Smith & Collins P.A.

Nancy McCutchan Duden, Anne Arundel County Office of Law

Robert L. Ferguson, Jr., Ferguson, Schetelich & Ballew P.A.

Gerard J. Gaeng, Rosenberg Martin Greenberg LLP

Mike Goecke, Lerch Early & Brewer Chtd.

Hon. Kathryn Grill Graeff, Court of Special Appeals of Maryland

Jill Green, University of Baltimore School of Law

Lawrence Greenberg, Greenberg Law Office

Kristin Herber, Under Armour Inc.

Quinton M. Herbert, Office of the Labor Commissioner for Baltimore City

Matthew G. Hjortsberg, Bowie & Jensen LLC

Kelly Hughes Iverson, Goodell DeVries

Jay D. Miller, Law Offices of Peter G. Angelos PC

Hon. Doug Nazarian, Court of Special Appeals of Maryland

Lawrence E. Schmidt, Smith, Gildea & Schmidt LLC

Jane Frankel Sims, Law Office of Jane Frankel Sims LLC

Adam M. Spence, Spence | Brierley PC

Ferrier R. Stillman, Tydings & Rosenberg LLP

Brian Tucker, Gallagher Evelius & Jones LLP

Michele Bresnick Walsh, Gordon Feinblatt LLC

Becki L. Young, Hammond Young Immigration Law LLC


2016 Generation J.D. Honorees


Tara A. Barnes, Rollins, Smalkin, Richards & Mackie LLC

Jamar R. Brown, Office of the State's Attorney for Baltimore City

Hon. John Alvin Henderson Jr., U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

Jordan J. Lysczek, Lysczek Law Office PC

Kathleen McClernan, Southern Maryland Center for Family Advocacy

Benjamin Meredith, Iliff, Meredith, Wildberger & Brennan PC

Heather R. Pruger, Womble Carlyle Sandridge & Rice LLP

Jeremy D. Rachlin, JDKatz PC

Michelle Daugherty Siri, The Women's Law Center of Maryland

Ebony M. Thompson, Venable LLP

Thomas M. Weschler Jr., Haspel & McLeod PC


2016 Lifetime Achievement Honorees


Hon. Sheila R. Tillerson Adams, Prince George's County Circuit Court

Ronald A. Baradel, Council, Baradel, Kosmerl & Nolan P.A.

Subscribe to RSS
RSS Feed
Browse By Date
1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30