Skip Navigation
Page Background

Herring Bay Watershed

Herring Bay Watershed

Watershed Description

The Herring Bay watershed is located in southeastern Anne Arundel County. It includes the communities of Snug Harbor, Cedarhurst, Sudleys Choice, Traceys Meadows, Franklin Manor, Churchton, Deale, Masons Beach, Owings Beach, Tracys Landing, Highview, Fairview, Fairhaven, Rosehaven, and North Beach Park.

The watershed encompasses 14,239 acres in drainage and contains approximately 109 miles of streams and is divided into 21 subwatersheds. These 21 subwatersheds range in size from 9 acres to over 3,548 acres. Major tributaries include Broadwater Creek, Rockhold Creek and Tracys Creek.

Impervious surfaces represented by roads, building footprints, parking lots and other hard surfaces cover approximately 6% (~824 acres) of the Herring Bay watershed. Major landmarks in the watershed include South County Recreation Center, Southern Recycling Center, Herrington Harbour North and Herrington Harbour South.

Watershed Assessment

The Watershed Protection and Restoration Program utilizes a watershed based approach to restoring and protecting our waterways. Assessments are conducted on each of the 12 primary watersheds to evaluate water conditions, establish priorities and goals for improvement, and take actions designed to restore or protect water quality.

The comprehensive watershed assessment for the Herring Bay watershed is currently under development. Check here periodically for updates.

Local Watershed Organizations

Successful conservation and preservation of Anne Arundel County's watersheds takes teamwork. Here is a list of various organizations that work to protect the Herring Bay watershed:

Advocates for Herring Bay
Anne Arundel County Watershed Stewards Academy

Follow the WPRP on Facebook