Skip Navigation
Page Background

About the Commission

The Commission is made up of 11 volunteer Commissioners, all Anne Arundel County residents, who serve staggered three-year terms. Also on the Commission is a non-voting, high school age student member and the Human Relations Officer, a County employee who serves as a non-voting ex officio member of the Commission.

All members of the Commission are nominated by the County Executive and approved by resolution of the County Council. Seven of the Commissioners are recommended by each Council Member from their councilmanic district, and the County Executive recommends four Commissioners to ensure the composition of the Commission reflects the diversity of County residents.