Skip Navigation
Page Background

Gun Violence Prevention Task Force

The task force is charged with researching and compiling data on crimes and suicide involving guns and recommending actions to help reduce gun violence in the county.


About the Task Force

The task force consists of twenty appointed citizen members representing a broad spectrum of experience and expertise in public safety, emergency operations, behavioral health and community outreach. The task force also includes sixteen local government officials acting as ex-officio members. Addressing gun violence has been a priority for Pittman, and he committed to creating a task force during his campaign for office. Jennifer Purcell, Pittman’s Chief of Staff, will represent the County Executive on the task force.

The task force’s first meeting is being planned by the end of April, and it will meet monthly through April of next year. The executive order requests a preliminary report from the task force by December 15 summarizing its progress and any initial findings and recommendations.

Task Force Members

  • Citizen Members
    Bishop Charles Carroll, Chair
    Andrea Chamblee, Vice Chair
    Maria Hiaasen, Vice Chair
    Jamie Benoit, former County Councilmember, District 4 (2006 - 2014)
    Dawn Stoltzfus, communications professional and member of Moms Demand Action
    Victoria Bayless, President & CEO, Anne Arundel Medical Center
    Sue Ward, Vice President for Operations, Baltimore Washington Medical Center
    Mackenzie BougheyAnne Arundel County student; March for Our Lives organizer 
    Bob Bates, former member, Brady Campaign to End Gun Violence
    Jennifer Sowers, Director of the Anne Arundel County Parent Coalition
    Elizabeth Ruddy, Anne Arundel County Public Schools teacher
    Iris Krasnow, author and columnist at The Capital
    Sergeant James Spearman, retired Annapolis Police officer, member of the Caucus of African-American Leaders
    Jackie Allsup, Anne Arundel County NAACP
    Alba Reyes, Hispanic community leader
    Elizabeth Banach, Marylanders to Prevent Gun Violence
    Stacy Korbelak, Professor
    Chris Moore, Citizen
  • Ex-Officio Members
    Jennifer Purcell, Chief of Staff, County Executive Steuart Pittman
    Anne Leitess, Anne Arundel County States Attorney
    Jim Fredericks, Anne Arundel County Sheriff (Designee to be named)
    Billie Penley, Health Officer (acting)
    Adrienne Mickler, Executive Director of the Anne Arundel County Mental Health Agency, Inc.
    Tim Altomare, Chief of Police
    Peter Smith, Military and Veterans Affairs Liaison
    Kevin Aftung, Director of the Anne Arundel County Office of Emergency Management
    Kevin Simmons, Director of the Office of Emergency Management for the City of Annapolis
    Greg Swain, County Attorney
    Trisha Wolford, Fire Chief
    Sandra Bartlett, Delegate, District 32
    Pamela Beidle, Senator Senator, District 32
    Allison Pickard, County Councilmember, District 2
    Nathan Volke, County Councilmember, District 3
    Shaneka Henson, Annapolis Alderwoman, District 6
    Melissa Ellis, Member, Board of Education, District 4