Skip Navigation
Page Background
Jug Bay Natural Area on the Patuxent River

Citizens Environmental Commission

The Anne Arundel County Citizens Environmental Commission advises the County Executive on actions to protect the county’s environmental resources.


In the Spotlight

About the Commission

The Anne Arundel County Citizens Environmental Commission recommends actions to protect the county’s environmental resources, promote clean, renewable energy solutions, and defend its shorelines and communities from rising sea levels.
The Commission meets every third Thursday of the month in the Chesapeake Room of the Heritage Office Complex at 2664 Riva Road, Annapolis, Maryland. The Commission discusses environmental concerns in Anne Arundel County, and will prepare an annual report of its recommendations for County Executive Pittman. Meeting agendas and any changes in scheduling will be posted on this page in advance of each meeting. Members of the public are welcome to attend, and will be given a few minutes at the end of the meeting to provide brief comments to the Commission.
The Commission is comprised of residents from each of the county’s watersheds, and representatives from environmental nonprofit organizations with offices in the county. Below is a list of members of the Commission.
Organizational Members
Kate Fritz Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay
Jesse Iliff Arundel Rivers
Sally Hornor Magothy River Association
Ammar Hanif Interfaith Partners of the Chesapeake


Watershed Members
Richard Hergenroeder Patapsco Tidal/Bodkin Creek
Steve Miller Magothy
Ruth Berlin Severn
Milly Welsh South
Carmera Thomas Little Patuxent
Jette Findsen Patuxent Middle/Patuxent Lower/Herring Bay
Jim Lyons West/Rhode
Kirvin Bonner Patapsco Non-Tidal
OPEN Patuxent Upper

Citizens Environmental Commission Meetings

Full Calendar