Maryland's Child Passenger Safety Laws
Maryland’s new child safety seat law went into effect on June 30, 2008. The new law requires that every child under 8 years of age must ride in a booster seat or other appropriate *child safety seat. The only exception to this law is if the child is 4 feet, 9 inches or taller, or weighs more than 65 pounds. In this case, the child can be secured with the vehicle’s seat belt.
*Child safety seats are defined as being infant seats, convertible seats, forward-facing seats, booster seats or any other federally approved safety devices.
Every child from 8 to 16 years of age who is not secured in a child safety seat, must be secured with the vehicle’s seat belt.
The back seat is the safest location for young passengers. Children less than 13 years of age should ride in the back seat and never in the front seat of airbag equipped vehicles.
A child younger than 16 years old may not ride in an unenclosed cargo bed of a pick-up truck.
A vehicle can be stopped and the driver issued a citation for a violation of these laws. Currently the fine for failing to buckle up children and/or allowing children to ride in an unenclosed cargo truck bed is $50.00 for each violation.