Skip Navigation
Page Background
Lady pushing man in wheelchair

Commission on Disability Issues

To promote and enhance the quality of life for people with disabilities.


In the Spotlight

The Purpose of the Commission is to:

  • Promote and enhance the quality of life for people with disabilities
  • Advise the County Executive and the County Council on the coordination and development of government policies, programs, services and allocation of resources for people with disabilities
  • Propose the means for meeting the needs of citizens with disabilities
The Commission's monthly meetings are open to the public. Contact the numbers below for dates, times, places and accommodations.

The Duties and Responsibilities of the Commission:

  • Review services, publications, and reports of government agencies which provide services to the disabled in the community
  • Review County, State and Federal Legislation and make recommendations
  • Recommend ways to maximize the use of facilities and services in the community
  • Provide enhanced communication among people with disabilities, private and public organization and the community
  • Assist with conferences, inter-agency planning groups, and special task forces to identify and assess needs
  • Identify barriers to service delivery and advocate for corrective measures
  • Promote services coordination and services delivery throughout the County

Commission Meetings

The commission regularly meets on the fourth Tuesday of the month in the Independence Conference Room 2664 Riva Road, Room 170, Annapolis, MD. 21401, except for December. Anyone planning to attend who needs accommodations should contact the Americans with Disabilities Act office at (410) 222-4383 or by e-mail at at least seven days in advance of the meeting. TTY users should please call via Maryland Relay at 7-1-1.

  • Commission Members
    Name Officers
    Barnes, John  
    Bertrand, Andrea  
    Callahan, Vicki  
    Elion, Jeanne  
    Haxall, Bolling  
    Ireland, Dr, Robert  
    Jenkins, Nancy G.  
    Leopold, John  
    Littig, Iris  
    Luzietti-Myers, Debra (Chair)
    McCord, Barbara  
    O'Neill Yanchulis, Colleen  
    Palmer, Ginger  
    Pantelides, Andre  
    Portis, L. Denise (Co-Vice Chair)
    Riefe, Geoffrey
    Sabo, Maryann  
    Scordo, Richard  
    Sinclair, Jane (Co-Vice Chair)
    Sopel, Steve
    Yaeger, Jessica
  • Ex-Officio Representatives
    Name Agency
    Brandi Francis Anne Arundel County Department of Aging & Disabilities
    John Lane Anne Arundel County Fire Department
    Greg Africa Department of Public Works
    Empty Seat Anne Arundel County Health Department
    Ivan Candelaria Department of Inspections & Permits
    Rebecca Hass Anne Arundel County Public Library System
    Mimi Stoops Anne Arundel Community College
    Lt. Dan Rodriguez Anne Arundel County Police Department (alternate)
    Sgt. Matt Snyder Anne Arundel County Police Department (alternate)
    Alderwoman Sheila M. Finlayson City Council
    Nancy Schrum Community and Constituent Services
    Janet Pantaleo Division of Rehabilitation Services
    Kirstin Cook Anne Arundel County Planning and Zoning
    Wendy Scarborough Anne Arundel County Recreation & Parks
    Mayor Mike Pantelides City of Annapolis
    Kyle Tibbs City of Annapolis (alternate for Mayor Mike Pantelides)
    Kate Callahan Anne Arundel County Mental Health (alternate for Frank Sullivan)
    Linda Donahue Anne Arundel County Board of Education
    Councilman Chris Trumbauer Anne Arundel County Council Office
    Janice Hayes-Williams Anne Arundel County Council Office (alternate for Chris Trumbauer)
    Jerry Shandrowsky Anne Arundel County Detention Center


Commission on Disability Issues & ADA Anniversary Event [HD]

Join the Anne Arundel County Department of Aging and Disabilities as they celebrate the 20th anniversary of the Anne Arundel County Commission on Disability Issues and the 25th anniversary of the Americans With Disabilities Act.


Useful Links

Artists Without Limits 2017