Skip Navigation


Print this page




Board of Appeals

Location:Arundel Center
44 Calvert Street
P.O. Box 2700
Annapolis, Maryland 21404
Phone: (410) 222-1119
Hours of Operation: 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday except holidays. Anyone needing accommodations must contact the office at (410) 222-1119 or via Maryland Relay 7-1-1 at least 7 days in advance of the event. All materials available in alternative formats upon request.
The Board of Appeals operates independently from both the legislative and executive branches. The County Council appoints the seven Board members to four-year terms coterminous with their own. The Board renders final decisions on appeals related to zonings, licenses, permits, and executive, administrative and judicatory orders. Appellants of decisions who are not satisfied with the decision of the Board may subsequently pursue their case in Circuit Court.
Members of the Board of Appeals:

Richard Forgo
Wm. Jay Breitenbach, Chairman
Patsy Baker Blackshear
Paul Devlin
S. Spencer Dove
J. Gary Middlebrooks, Vice Chairman
Rick Hare


Deana L. Bussey, Clerk , and Tracy L. McFadden, Assistant Clerk



Social Networking Icons (Fb, Twitter, RSS, Pinterest, Email List)

Anne Arundel County, Maryland. 44 Calvert Street, Annapolis, Maryland 21401 | Tele: (410) 222-7000