Skip Navigation


General Information (410) 222-7000

Contact Community & Constituent Services at (410) 222-1785




News Releases - News and Updates - 2013  


Social Networking Icons (Fb, Twitter, RSS, Pinterest, Email List)



Maryland Gazette Announces Finalists for Person of the Year Award

Publish Date: 12/13/2013

County Executive Neuman Among Top Nominees; Winner to be Named New Year’s Day

Annapolis, MD (December 12, 2013) – County Executive Laura Neuman is one of 10 finalists for the Maryland Gazette’s first “Person of the Year” award. Last month, the newspaper queried readers, asking them to name persons who had a significant impact on their community. Nominees included educators; volunteers; police officers; public officials and public figures; community activists; students; and entrepreneurs. After paring down the list, the newspaper chose the top 10; two were nominated posthumously.
"I can't begin to express how humbled I am that our residents thought enough to recommend me for this terrific honor," said Executive Neuman. "To be compared to this impressive group gives me joy and makes me proud to serve as County Executive. I will be casting my vote for one of the other more deserving nominees for this lovely honor."

In recognizing Executive Neuman, the Gazette wrote: “How can you not be charmed by Laura Neuman’s story? A self-made woman, who became a millionaire business executive after dropping out of high school, she seemingly came from nowhere in February to win the role as Anne Arundel’s first appointed county executive.
“Stepping in after John Leopold’s conviction for abuse of his office and subsequent resignation, Neuman now seems to be everywhere. You can find her speaking to a neighborhood civic association or chamber of commerce, helping light the Christmas trees in Pasadena and Glen Burnie, or remaking county government with changes like getting the county to send emails to permit applicants instead of letters.”
In addition to Executive Neuman, other nominees include:
  • Louise DeJesu, Principal at Hilltop Elementary School
  • Glenda Gathers, Community activist
  • Victoria Hill, Northeast High School graduate
  • Bill Kraus and Steve Newton, Mission BBQ
  • Skylar Marion, Pasadena (Posthumous)
  • Sarah Shannon, Civic Activist (Posthumous)
  • Pete Smith, Former County Councilman
  • Lt. Steve Thomas, Anne Arundel County Police
  • Marge Torrance, Volunteer, O’Malley Senior Center
Final nominations are being accepted until 8 a.m., Monday, December 19. You can email your choice to, call 410-280-5938, mail it to P.O. Box 911, Annapolis, MD 21404, contact the paper through Facebook or Twitter or take their online poll at Winners will be announced on New Year’s Day.

Anne Arundel County, MD. 44 Calvert Street Annapolis, MD. 21401 | Telephone: (410) 222-7000 | Suggestions | Disclaimer

Copyright 2008; All rights reserved