Skip Navigation
Print this page




County Executive Leopold Congratulates School Resource Officers as Students Head Back to School

School Safety Advocacy Council honors program

Annapolis (August 23, 2010) - County Executive Leopold today congratulated Anne Arundel County Police School Resource Officers on their outstanding work and national recognition as a model for other law enforcement agencies as students started a new school year.

“School Resource Officers are very important in establishing a close relationship between the Police Department and the public,” County Executive Leopold said.  “We committed the resources necessary to have these officers in 20 middle and high schools, where they serve as role models and teachers to students.  Our program is now a national model.”

In July, at a conference in Orlando, Florida, the School Safety Advocacy Council awarded the School Resource Unit the prestigious Exemplary School Safety Program Award.  School Resource Officer Cpl.  Tony Mills received a national award for excellence in school safety for his efforts to address bullying, for his professionalism and for related roles. Anne Arundel County took home two of the 15 national awards presented during the conference.

The School Resource Unit has been twice expanded during County Executive Leopold’s term, supported by more than $2.9 million in funding to support Anne Arundel County Public Schools.  To date, School Resource Officers have been recognized locally for their community outreach, including work as sports coaches, club advisors, mentors and countless hours of volunteer service working with school-aged persons outside regular duty hours. 

"I am extremely proud of the men and women who work tirelessly every day to make our School Resource Unit a success," said Chief of Police Colonel James Teare, Sr. "Being recognized nationally and hailed as a model program is a testament to the dedication these officers demonstrate to the students in their assigned schools.”


Social Networking Icons (Fb, Twitter, RSS, Pinterest, Email List)

Anne Arundel County, Maryland. 44 Calvert Street, Annapolis, Maryland 21401 | Tele: (410) 222-7000