Skip Navigation
Print this page




County Executive John R. Leopold Names Members of Task Force to Study Erroneous Permit Approvals

Annapolis (April 4, 2008) - County Executive John R. Leopold is pleased to announce the newly appointed members of the Task Force for the Study of Erroneous Permit Approvals. On March 27, County Executive Leopold signed an Executive Order establishing the nine-person advisory body that will study erroneous permit approvals to reduce the inconvenience and expense to permit applicants who proceed with construction activity based on wrongly-issued permits.

"It is my hope that these individuals will, in the next 90 days, offer recommendations to help bring equity to citizens who incur expenses based on the unintentional, but erroneous actions of the permits office," said County Executive Leopold. "I am looking forward to seeing their findings and recommendations to reduce both the inconvenience and expense to applicants."

Currently citizens have the right to seek variances from the Administrative Hearing Officer Steve LeGendre if they are unhappy with an inspection or permit application decision, and can appeal to the Board of Appeals if dissatisfied with the ruling of the Hearing Officer.

According to Executive Order 27, the Task Force for the Study of Erroneous Permit Approvals will serve as an advisory body to the County Executive and will consist of the following individuals:

  • Kent McNew - Founder/ President of Eastern Petroleum Corporation
  • Ginina Stevenson - Attorney, Assistant Public Defender
  • Mohan Grover - Shady Side Civic Leader and Businessman and Commissioner, AAC Human Relations Commission
  • Linton "Fuzz" Pumphrey - Member of Maryland Homebuilders Association
  • Nancy Duden - County Office of Law
  • Cathleen Vitale - County Council Chairperson
  • Larry Tom - Planning & Zoning Officer
  • Betty Dixon - Inspections & Permits Director, Task Force Chairperson
  • Frank Ward - Director of Permits Center

Social Networking Icons (Fb, Twitter, RSS, Pinterest, Email List)

Anne Arundel County, Maryland. 44 Calvert Street, Annapolis, Maryland 21401 | Tele: (410) 222-7000