Skip Navigation
Print this page




County Executive Leopold's Statement on Building Moratorium in Mayo



Action Taken to Ease Burden on Public Sewer System

Annapolis (August 5, 2008) - Anne Arundel County officials moved today to ease the burden on the Mayo Sewer Service Area by enacting a building moratorium. The County Allotment Committee along with other staff reviewed all the data related to management of the Mayo Water Reclamation Facility (WRF) treatment capacity and concluded that the moratorium must be implemented to comply with Maryland Department of the Environment (MDE) regulation.

"It is in the best interest of the Mayo community that we enact this moratorium," announced County Executive John R. Leopold. "Allowing more connections to the public sewer system would be irresponsible to our citizens and a potential violation of our MDE permit."

The Allotment Committee declared this moratorium on the approval of capacity for any new subdivision, subdivision in process, any new minor subdivision, minor subdivision in process and any new building permits or permits applied for in which the property owner has not been paying service availability charges in the Mayo Service Area served by the Mayo WRF.

Building permits that do not increase capacity at the Mayo WRF, such as demolition rebuilds or home improvements, are not impacted by this moratorium.

All permit applications for the Mayo Sewer Service Area must contact DPW-Financial Services at 410-222-7511 for approval prior to application. A fact sheet is available for review on or at the County Permit Center located at 2664 Riva Road, Annapolis, Maryland 21401.

The moratorium will be in effect until capacity at the Mayo WRF is expanded. Planned expansion has been actively pursued by County officials with MDE for approval and permitting of the designed expansion.

The Allotment Committee is comprised of Ronald Bowen, Director of Public Works; Larry Tom, Planning and Zoning Officer; and Betty Dixon, Director of Inspections and Permits.


Social Networking Icons (Fb, Twitter, RSS, Pinterest, Email List)

Anne Arundel County, Maryland. 44 Calvert Street, Annapolis, Maryland 21401 | Tele: (410) 222-7000