Skip Navigation
Print this page




County Executive John R. Leopold Honors Fallen Anne Arundel County Heroes

Annapolis (May 12, 2008) - County Executive John R. Leopold will host an event honoring nine Anne Arundel County servicemen who lost their lives in the global war on terrorism. The ceremony will be held at 11:00 a.m. in Fort Smallwood Park, Pasadena, on Armed Forces Day, Saturday, May 17th.

"Under the flag of freedom, we remember and honor the Fallen Heroes of Anne Arundel County that made the ultimate sacrifice in defense of our country," stated County Executive John R. Leopold.

A memorial grove of nine Red Dogwood trees has been planted in honor of our Fallen Heroes: Sergeant First Class James J. Stoddard, Jr. (Crofton), Corporal Justin J. Watts (Crownsville), Staff Sergeant Christopher W. Swanson (Rose Haven), Private First Class Eric M. Kavanagh (Glen Burnie), Lance Corporal Eric W. Herzberg (Severna Park), Command Sergeant Major Roger W. Haller (Annapolis), Major Douglas A. Zembiec (Annapolis), Specialist Micheal B. Matlock, Jr. (Glen Burnie) and Sergeant First Class Collin J. Bowen (Millersville).

County Executive Leopold will also dedicate a new 90-foot flagpole along with a plaque to honor the Anne Arundel County Fallen Heroes. Members of the Fort Smallwood Park/Harry & Jeannette Weinberg Park Master Plan Committee will be recognized for their efforts in completing the Master Plan for the two parks.

Admission is free and the public and media are invited to attend.

For further information regarding the event, contact John Marshall, Chief of Park Operations, at


Social Networking Icons (Fb, Twitter, RSS, Pinterest, Email List)

Anne Arundel County, Maryland. 44 Calvert Street, Annapolis, Maryland 21401 | Tele: (410) 222-7000