Skip Navigation
Print this page




County Executive Leopold Announces National Award

All County Wastewater Facilities Achieve 100% Discharge Permit Compliance

Annapolis (July 9, 2007)--County Executive John R. Leopold announced today that all 6 of the County’s major wastewater treatment facilities have once again received national recognition for 100% compliance with their National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System permits (NPDES). Known as the [Platinum] Peak Performance Award, all 6 treatment facilities were recognized by the National Association of Clean Water Agencies (NACWA). Gold Awards are presented to facilities with a full year of perfect compliance. The Platinum Award is reserved for those facilities nationwide that achieve 100% compliance with the NPDES permits for 5 consecutive years or more. Anne Arundel County is routinely among the nation’s top award winners.

"This is a significant achievement for Anne Arundel County as, collectively, we strive to protect and enhance our valuable natural resources," said County Executive John Leopold this week. "The fact that all our facilities have achieved compliance for at least five years running speaks to the dedication and vigilance of our Department of Public Works employees where teams of dedicated highly skilled technicians work around the clock to ensure compliance."

The following treatment facilities achieved 100% compliance and have earned NACWA's Platinum Peak Performance Award for the following number of years:

Broadneck Wastewater Reclamation Facility (WRF) - 6 consecutive years
Annapolis WRF - 8 consecutive years
Broadwater WRF- 10 consecutive years
Maryland City WRF 14 consecutive years
Cox Creek WRF- 15 consecutive year; and
Patuxent WRF - 5 consecutive years

The only facility not recognized was the Mayo facility. Although not eligible for national recognition due to its size, the Mayo WRF also achieved 100% compliance with the NPDES permit.

The Department of Public Works is committed to providing environmentally sensitive wastewater treatment to promote and protect the water in the Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries. For further information go to the Department of Public Works, Bureau of Utility Operations Website at


Social Networking Icons (Fb, Twitter, RSS, Pinterest, Email List)

Anne Arundel County, Maryland. 44 Calvert Street, Annapolis, Maryland 21401 | Tele: (410) 222-7000