Skip Navigation
Print this page




County Executive Leopold’s Ethics Commission Appointments Announced

Annapolis, MD (June 21, 2007) - Anne Arundel County Executive John R. Leopold’s appointment of Patrick Thomas Shanahan and Cynthia H. Caldwell to the County’s Ethics Commission has been announced, with the two new members concluding the first month of their four year term.

"The charge which I have placed on these two individuals should not be taken lightly," said County Executive Leopold. "The Ethics Commission is responsible for maintaining the moral principles of our County, and I am confident that both Mr. Shanahan and Ms. Caldwell’s impressive personal and professional backgrounds will assist them in their duties on the commission."

The Anne Arundel County Ethics Commission:

  • Was created by the voters of Anne Arundel County
  • Administers the Public Ethics Law
  • Provides ethics training to county employees
  • Provides advice to county employees
  • Maintains financial disclosure records
  • Maintains lobbying records
  • Investigates and holds hearings on alleged violations of the Ethics Law

P. Thomas Shanahan most recently served as Anne Arundel County’s Chief of Police for eight years. He retired in December of 2006.

Cynthia H. Caldwell is currently the Supervisor of Administrative Interns at McDaniel College in Westminster, Maryland. She is also the Supervisor of Student Teachers at Bowie State University in Bowie, a member of the Anne Arundel Chapter of the NAACP, and is a former Anne Arundel County Public School Administrator.

The one Republican and one Democrat were approved by the County Council at the May 7, 2007 meeting.


Social Networking Icons (Fb, Twitter, RSS, Pinterest, Email List)

Anne Arundel County, Maryland. 44 Calvert Street, Annapolis, Maryland 21401 | Tele: (410) 222-7000