Skip Navigation
Print this page




County Executive Owens Announces Joint Agreement to Form a Grant Advisory Task Force

Study Ways to Secure Funding for BRAC

Annapolis, MD (November 27, 2006) - Anne Arundel County Executive Janet S. Owens announced a Memorandum of Understanding between Anne Arundel and Howard Counties and the city of Laurel, to establish a Grant Advisory Task Force. This task force will work with the Office of Economic Adjustment (OEA) to facilitate additional funding needed to accommodate the Base Realignment and Closure Recommendations of 2005 (BRAC).

The Office of Economic Adjustment, an agency within the United States Department of Defense is charged with the responsibility of providing funding to local government jurisdictions that will be directly impacted by BRAC.

"This MOU establishes the process for Anne Arundel County to take the lead in an attempt to secure planning dollars to support the BRAC initiative," said County Executive Owens. "I am pleased with the cooperation, and hope it continues."

The OEA Grant Advisory Task Force will consist of five members as follows:

1) The Anne Arundel County Executive or designee of the County Executive

2) The Howard County Executive or designee of the County Executive

3) The Mayor of Laurel or designee of the Mayor

4) The Anne Arundel County BRAC Liaison

5) The Howard County Executive Director of BRAC

Only these five members will be voting members of the Task Force. The Planning and Zoning Directors of Anne Arundel and Howard Counties and the City of Laurel, along with the President of Fort Meade Alliance will serve the Task Force in an advisory and informational capacity for the purpose of providing any necessary guidance required by the Task Force.


Social Networking Icons (Fb, Twitter, RSS, Pinterest, Email List)

Anne Arundel County, Maryland. 44 Calvert Street, Annapolis, Maryland 21401 | Tele: (410) 222-7000