Skip Navigation
Print this page




Occupational Safety and Health Workgroup

The purpose of the Occupational Health and Safety Workgroup is to conduct research, develop recommendations, and study and review matters pertaining to occupational health and safety within the Fire Department. The workgroup is chaired by the Division Chief of Health and Safety and consists of one (1) primary and one (1) alternate from each of the following areas:
  • Communications Division
  • EMS Division
  • Fire Marshal's Division
  • Fire/Rescue
  • Operations - Battalion 1
  • Fire/Rescue Operations - Battalion 2
  • Fire/Rescue Operations - Battalion 3
  • Fire/Rescue Operations - Battalion 4
  • Health/Safety Division
  • IAFF, Local 1563
  • Maintenance Division
  • Risk Management
  • Special Operations
  • Training Division
  • Volunteer Fire Fighters Association
The group meets on a monthly basis and is responsible for the following:
  • Serving in an advisory capacity to the Chief on the Department on safety matters In conjunction with the Health and Safety Officer
  • Reviewing the Risk Management Plan on an annual basis
  • Evaluating the effectiveness of the Health and Safety Program at least every three years - an audit report of the findings is submitted to the Chief of the Department and to all members of the workgroup
  • Establishing goals to reduce occupational injuries, illnesses, infectious disease exposures, and vehicle collisions.
  • Reporting periodically to the Chief of the Department the adequacy, effectiveness, and compliance of departmental rules, regulations, and standard operating procedures - this report also includes recommendations of the specific Rule, Regulation or Operating procedure in question
  • Reviewing all cases where entry was made into a hazardous environment without the use of a Rapid Intervention Crew



Social Networking Icons (Fb, Twitter, RSS, Pinterest, Email List)

Anne Arundel County, Maryland. 44 Calvert Street, Annapolis, Maryland 21401 | Tele: (410) 222-7000