Skip Navigation

Heritage Complex
2662 Riva Road
Annapolis, MD. 21401
(410) 222-7500



Department of Public Works - DPW News and Announcements - 2013 

Social Networking Icons (Fb, Twitter, RSS, Pinterest, Email List)

Public Works Director Honored at the Chesapeake Bay Trust Awards Ceremony

Ronald Bowen Receives the Ellen Wagner Fraites Award for Chesapeake Bay Stewardship.

Annapolis, MD (January 25, 2013) – Last night the Chesapeake Bay Trust announced the recipients of its 2013 Annual Awards Program at a ceremony held in the Miller Senate Office Building in Annapolis. During the event, more than 150 Chesapeake Bay supporters joined members of the Maryland General Assembly to honor six exceptional teachers, students and individuals for their exceptional contributions to environmental education, Bay restoration and citizen stewardship. Launched in 1998, the Chesapeake Bay Trust’s Annual Awards Program recognizes six awardees each year for a variety of environmental leadership roles and achievements.
“Each of these exceptional awardees has contributed an incredible amount to advance environmental efforts that are bettering our communities, educating our young people, and restoring our Chesapeake Bay,” said Dr. Jana Davis, executive director of the Chesapeake Bay Trust. “We are so honored to be able to recognize our awardees in front of such a distinguished group of legislators, partners and friends while showcasing the incredible work that the Chesapeake Bay Trust and its grantees are able to accomplish each and every year.”
“I am honored and humbled to receive the Dr. Torrey Brown Award, named after my former boss, mentor and great friend,” said Secretary Griffin. “Our work to restore the health of the Bay can’t be done alone; so I accept this award on behalf of all my dedicated colleagues at the Department of Natural Resources who labor in the vineyards day in and day out to do their part in restoring the Bay and its living resources.”
Chesapeake Bay Trust Award recipients.  From left: Jana Davis, Chesapeake Bay Trust; Warren Hamel, Chesapeake Bay Trust board; Emily Meny, Esperanza Middle School; John Billington, Rosedale Center; Danielle Fallon, River Hill High School; Sherrilyn Backof, Rosedale Center; Ginger Ellis, Anne Arundel County Department of Public Works on behalf of Ron Bowen; Olumayokun Odukale, Morgan State University; John Griffin, Maryland Department of Natural Resources.
The Chesapeake Bay Trust’s 2013 Annual Award Winners
2013 Dr. Torrey Brown Award: Secretary John R. Griffin
Maryland Department of Natural Resources
This year the Trust honored Maryland Department of Natural Resources Secretary John R. Griffin for his exceptional leadership on the Chesapeake Bay’s restoration efforts and other environmental issues. 
Ellen Fraites Wagner Award: Ronald E. Bowen
Director of Anne Arundel County’s Department of Public Works
This award was created to honor Ellen Fraites Wagner, a former assistant to Governor Harry Hughes and a tireless advocate for the Chesapeake Bay and the environment. This award recognizes an individual who has shown exceptional commitment to the Bay and was given this year to Ron Bowen, the director of Anne Arundel County’s Department of Public Works. In addition to his dedication to implement stormwater management techniques and restoration efforts in Anne Arundel County, Bowen co-founded the Anne Arundel Watershed Stewards Academy and has spent more than 100 hours instructing classes and field trainings for the program.
2013 Environmental Educator of the Year: Emily Meny
Esperanza Middle School in California, MD
2013 Honorable Arthur Dorman Scholarship: Olumayokun Odukale
Morgan State University, Baltimore, MD
The Trust’s $5,000 Arthur Dorman Scholarship, created to honor longtime Trust board member the late Senator Arthur Dorman, is presented each year to a Maryland high school or college student who demonstrates a commitment to the environment and, as a student of color, exhibits exemplary leadership in promoting diversity and inclusion in her community. A student at Morgan State University, Odukale has logged more than 500 volunteer hours in the school’s environmental engineering lab working on monitoring highway runoff among many other projects.  He is the project leader for his campus’ RainWorks Competition and serves as chair (and was cofounder) of Morgan State’s Ecological and Environmental Engineering and Design Student Council, among his many accomplishments.
2013 Melanie Teems Award: The Rosedale Center
Baltimore, MD
The Trust’s Melanie Teems Award is given each year to honor exceptional grant work that engages citizens in efforts to improve the environment and the Chesapeake Bay. Melanie Teems was the longest serving member on the Trust’s staff and is a vocal champion of the organization’s grantees.  This year the Trust recognized the Rosedale Center in Baltimore for their exceptional work above and beyond the call of duty to educate young people about the environment.  The Rosedale Center is an alternative middle and high school that seeks to help students learn who might not be able to within a traditional school setting.  This school has received more than 20 grants from the Trust over its history and engaged hundreds of students through work that is having an impact connecting students to the local environment while teaching job skills and traditional lesson plans.
About the Chesapeake Bay Trust: 
The Chesapeake Bay Trust ( is a nonprofit grant-making organization dedicated to improving the Chesapeake Bay and its rivers through environmental education, community outreach, and local watershed restoration. Since its inception in 1985, the Trust has awarded $50 million in grants and engaged hundreds of thousands of citizen stewards in projects that have a measurable impact on the Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries. The Trust is supported by the sale of the Maryland Treasure the Chesapeake license plate, donations to the Chesapeake Bay and Endangered Species Fund on the Maryland State income tax form, donations from individuals and corporations, and partnerships with private foundations and federal and state agencies. Almost 90 percent of the Trust’s expenditures are directed to its Chesapeake Bay restoration and education programs.


Anne Arundel County, MD. 44 Calvert Street Annapolis, MD. 21401 | Telephone: (410) 222-7000 | Suggestions | Disclaimer

Copyright 2008; All rights reserved