Skip Navigation
Print this page




Animal Control Commission





The Animal Control Commission consists of seven members - a representative of the Health Department, the Police Department, a veterinarian and four appointed citizens. The Commission is an independent body established in Article 12 Title 2 of the AA County Code to impartially hear animal related complaints and appeals. It is not a part of Animal Control.  
Citizen members are appointed by the County Executive. The term of a citizen member is two years.
The Animal Control Commander is the Executive Secretary of the Commission and his/her designee maintains records of all Commission hearings.
All hearings before the Commission are open to the public. It may be helpful to attend a hearing to familiarize yourself with the proceedings before actually participating in a hearing yourself. You are welcome to call Animal Control at (410) 222-8900 to ask for dates of upcoming hearings.

Social Networking Icons (Fb, Twitter, RSS, Pinterest, Email List)

Anne Arundel County, Maryland. 44 Calvert Street, Annapolis, Maryland 21401 | Tele: (410) 222-7000