

# ARUNDEL CENTER P.O. BOX 2700 - ANNAPOLIS, MARYLAND 21401 Phone: 410-222-1821 Fax: 410-222-1155

www.aacounty.org

### STEUART PITTMAN County Executive

#### **EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 47**

## TO CREATE THE ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY JOINT COMMISSION ON THE OPPORTUNITY GAP

**WHEREAS**, kindergarten through twelfth grade education is intended to develop the intellect, serve social needs, contribute to the economy, craft an effective work force, and generate an informed electorate; and

**WHEREAS,** in 1948, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. said that the function of education is to teach one to think intensively and to think critically, but education which stops with efficiency may prove the greatest menace to society; and

**WHEREAS**, the Anne Arundel County Executive and the Superintendent of Anne Arundel County Public Schools recognize that an opportunity gap exists, related to race and income, for some children in the Anne Arundel County Public School system; and

WHEREAS, inequality of opportunity begins with a lack of prenatal care and continues to the negative effects of low birthweight and poor nutrition, and that students who experience poverty, income inequality, and racism, are least ready to learn at the kindergarten level; and

**WHEREAS**, this gap in school readiness and achievement continues to widen as these children move through the school system; and

**WHEREAS**, the Anne Arundel County Executive and the Superintendent of Anne Arundel County Public Schools created The Joint Initiative to Eliminate the Achievement Gap Committee to research and make recommendations to address the consistent disparities in academic performance between different groups of students; and

WHEREAS, one of the earliest decisions by members of the Joint Initiative was to replace the word 'Achievement' with 'Opportunity' in the committee's name in recognition that school

success for certain student groups is not related to innate talent, but to their denial of opportunity; and

WHEREAS, over 200 County residents dedicated their time to addressing the opportunity gap over a period of 15 months through 11 community meetings and five regularly convened subcommittees; and

WHEREAS, the resulting *Joint Initiative to Eliminate the Opportunity Gap Report* made public on November 30, 2020, includes 14 goals, 78 strategies, and four priority recommendations for addressing the gap, of which one goal was to establish and empower an independent coalition of stakeholders, including those with life experience of the equity issues, to provide ongoing review and oversight of structural and systemic racism that contributes to the opportunity gap in AACPS and the County, and to recommend changes to address equity issues in academics and discipline;

**NOW, THEREFORE, I,** Steuart Pittman, County Executive, by virtue of the authority vested in me by the Charter and laws of Anne Arundel County, Maryland, and in cooperation with the Superintendent of Anne Arundel County Public Schools, hereby order and direct on this 18th day of May 2021, as follows:

- 1. The Anne Arundel County Joint Commission on the Opportunity Gap ("JCOG" or "the Commission") is hereby created; and
- 2. The Commission shall meet ten times per year, or more if it determines more frequent meetings are necessary, to perform its functions under this Executive Order.
- 3. The Commission shall consist of fifteen (15) voting members, who must live or work in Anne Arundel County, as follows:
  - a. Six members appointed by the County Executive, to include:
    - i. An Anne Arundel County employee;
    - ii. A County resident between the ages of 18 and 24 who is either a graduate of Anne Arundel County Public Schools or is currently enrolled in a college-level teacher training or education program;
    - iii. A representative from the Anne Arundel County NAACP;
    - iv. A representative from the faith community;
    - v. A representative with life experience of inequities in the County; and
    - vi. A representative of an education-focused non-profit organization;
  - b. Six members appointed by the Superintendent of Anne Arundel County Public Schools, to include:

- i. A youth representing the student body in the County;
- ii. An early childhood specialist;
- iii. A Pupil Personnel Worker;
- iv. A school nurse in the County;
- v. A Principal from an Anne Arundel County Title 1 school, as defined in the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965, 20 U.S.C. § 6301, et seq, and amended by the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA), P.L. 114–95 (2015); and
- vi. A representative from the Anne Arundel County Public Schools Citizen Advisory Committee; and
- c. Three members appointed by the Commission, once it is seated.
- 4. The Commission shall consist of the following *ex officio* (non-voting) members or their designees:
  - a. A representative employee from the Office of the Anne Arundel County Executive;
  - b. A representative from the Office of the Superintendent of Anne Arundel County Public Schools:
  - c. The Anne Arundel County Director of Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion;
  - d. The Executive Director of the Office of Equity and Accelerated Student Achievement for Anne Arundel County Public Schools;
  - e. A representative from the Health Equity Initiative for the Anne Arundel County Department of Health;
  - f. The Chief of Public Services and Branch Management for the Anne Arundel County Public Library;
  - g. The Director of the Office of Inclusion, Diversity, Equity, Access and Leadership for Anne Arundel Community College; and
  - h. The Commander of the Community Relations Division for the Anne Arundel County Police Department.
- 5. The initial term of a voting member shall terminate on December 5, 2022 following the election of the County Executive and County Council. Thereafter, the term of a voting

member is two (2) years and each voting member may be re-appointed once. A member whose term has expired shall hold over until a successor is appointed.

- 6. The County Executive and Superintendent of Schools shall jointly designate the Chair of the Commission, whose authority, duties, and responsibilities are stated in the Commission's Bylaws.
- 7. The JCOG is an advisory body that shall:
  - a. Initiate and monitor progress toward meeting the four priority recommendations in the Joint Initiative to Eliminate the Opportunity Gap ("JIEOG") report through meetings with staff and bi-annual reporting;
  - b. Define and track metrics, in collaboration with Anne Arundel County Public Schools and county representatives, on an agreed upon time schedule, that reflect the negative impacts of systemic racism on the opportunity gap; all data should be disaggregated by race and ethnicity;
  - c. Provide recommendations, based on the JIEOG subcommittee recommendations and additional research, to Anne Arundel County Public Schools and to Anne Arundel County Government, related to policy and practice to reduce the opportunity gap;
  - d. Schedule and conduct public forums;
  - e. Serve as a resource to the County Executive, County Council, Superintendent, and Board of Education;
  - f. Create formal and ad hoc sub-committees to work on the priority recommendations;
  - g. Recommend items for a budget proposal to support opportunity gap initiatives for the FY23 budget year and future years; and
  - h. Make a formal presentation to the Board of Education of Anne Arundel County, Anne Arundel County Executive, and Anne Arundel County Council, at bi-annual intervals.

This Executive Order shall be archived at the Office of Law and remain in existence until altered or terminated by subsequent Executive Order.

STEUART PITTMAN
County Executive

Approved as to form and legal sufficiency:

tolog

Gregory J. Swain County Attorney